Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I worked Xmas Eve, so YOU didn't have to. You're welcome.
2006-12-29 10:45 a.m.

I have a request. Please, citizens of the world: STOP doing basically anything outside of your home on Christmas Eve. Especially STOP going out to eat. Your whole family is in town, that's great. I'm happy for you. The people I'm spending Xmas with are eight hours away, and I can't go there until you stop standing in my restaurant, telling me to have a Merry Christmas.

It's bad form to scream at the guests. Technically, you're not even supposed to swear at them under your breath.

I really wanted to say, just once, "Well, asshole, my Christmas would be a hell of a lot merrier if you weren't standing there." Or maybe just "Fuckyoufuckyoufuckyou!" Simple, but eloquent.

Area Supervisor had called the restaurant at 10am. Maybe this was supposed to make me think that he was working on the holiday too. Fazuul was scheduled to be open till 6pm. He said he really hoped we'd be done cleaning up and on our way home by 6:30. It's important that we get to be with our families, he said. I assured him that I also really hoped we could do that.

At 4pm, I had everything done that I could reasonably do without inconveniencing myself. I'd even made people do most of the dishes. (There was a dishwasher scheduled 4-close. He's differently abled, or whatever the current PC term is. He works really slowly, and has to be reminded to get back to work practically constantly.)

My closing staff was one manager trainee, Dishboy, and me. It had been ridiculously slow all day, so I let the people scheduled till 4 go home.

At 5 FUCKING 30, the rush happened. There were more guests in that last half hour than there had been in the entire day up till then. I am not even kidding. At 6 when I locked the door, there were still 10 orders that had not been made yet. It sucked, more than any Fazuulian shift has ever sucked before. I had Dishboy as my Breadstick Fairy, which is hilarious in ways you cannot even imagine. (Traditionally, the "service leader" has to be specially trained, and it's kind of a big deal when someone becomes qualified to hand out the breadsticks in the dining room. This was my training of Dishboy: "OK, these are breadsticks. This is a basket, these are tongs. THAT is a dining room full of angry people who need breadsticks so they will stop yelling at me. Do you understand? OK, go.")

We finally left the restaurant at 8. Not 6:30. This meant that Rijid and I left Madison at 9pm, and arrived in MO at 4:30 am. At 7am, we were awakened because his cousins were leaving in a hour. Xmas Eve is traditionally the main celebration for his family, and I made him miss it for the first time in his whole life, because when I started in J-ville in Sept, all the other managers had already asked off.
***
I will not work on Christmas Eve again. This I swear, right now. Ideally, I accomplish this by somehow having a job that doesn't make working on holiday weekends mandatory.

I've pretty much told myself that I can't look for a new job till at least the brain payments go away, and maybe most of the credit cards too. That could all happen this year, if the tax returns are good.

If I don't have a new job by say, August 1, I will request off for Xmas Eve that day. I am NOT going to do that ever again.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey