Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Jen's financial report, 2006.
2007-01-17 11:40 a.m.

I'm back I'm back I'm back! Thanks to Kel, who knew how to make the internet go, and was able to explain it to Rijid.

Now the only problem is that le computer is still very dusty and irritable, and eventually it will just say, "Eh, screw it," and shut itself down when it gets overheated. It adds a certain drama to the process, I feel. Will I get to finish my entry? If not, will I have remembered to have saved anytime recently? I know I'm on the edge of my seat, but that might just be the coffee.
***
Jeez. My last entry was a Working on Xmas rant. Now it's mid-January. I must have done something that wasn't work over the last two weeks. Give me a minute.

I'm anxiously awaiting my W-2, so I can do my taxes. I'm anxious, because in the back of my brain is a Plan. THIS is the year I will get out debt. Well, no, it isn't. But THIS is the year when at least one big chunk of the debt goes away.

I was actually kind of dumb in July. I thought that at any moment I would get the promotion, and I started letting myself abuse the credit cards a little more than usual, because I was sick to death of living like a pauper, and dammit, soon I'd be able to pay it all back.

As we know, I didn't actually start making the moneys till Sept. Then came a few months of desperately trying to get the debt down to its former (admittedly still kind of scary) size. Then came Christmas. I actually paid cash for 90% of Xmas, which pleased me.

Now it's January. Xmas is over. I've got approximately $200 extra on each paycheck that doesn't HAVE to go towards anything in particular at all. Granted, $100 will be the gas and groceries that I used to either charge (BAD Jen!) or begged money from Rijid. But still.

As far as I can tell, I've got approximately $1600 left on the brain payments. Let us just take a moment to bask in that number. Eleven fucking years ago (damn, I'm old...) the number was right around $10,000. I know that's not even really a lot, compared to some people, but it was a lot for me. I struggled to make payments of $150/month, sometimes. I needed a few deferments over the years. But now, the end is finally in sight.

I know the smart thing to do is actually to throw mad moneys at the credit cards instead. Say what you will about SallieMae, but she's got the lowest interest rates in town.

Which brings us back to the tax return. I want it to be huge. I need it to be huge. I need about $2000, so I can laugh at my credit cards, and then start seriously smacking that SallieMae bitch into the ground. (I don't think my student loan provider is SallieMae, technically. But saying I'm going to "smack that Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation into the groud" is somehow less satisfying. I need the mental image of someone named SallieMae, who I can personify, then crush under my heel of financial independence. I'm not really sure what that says about me.)

Anyway. I want the tax return to be large. I want at least the big scary credit card to go practically away in one fell swoop, so I can concentrate all my energies on the student loan, but in the back of my mind, I'm terrified. It can't really be that simple. Instead, this will be the year that I end up owing money to the IRS, and I'll be stuck working at Fazuul forever.

"I make SO MUCH money now. I'm practically rich. Rich people don't get returns..."

This is my reasoning. I know it's flawed, and that I am in fact quite a long way from "rich." I can't help stressing about it, though. I want my W-2 to come NOW so I can see what exactly it will do for me, and then actually have some kind of factual basis to plan the rest of my finances for the year.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey