Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Another Girly entry. I have gotten in touch with my Inner Girl, and she's kind of shallow. Who knew?
2006-06-27 11:42 a.m.

At some point today, I will go swimming. There's this sleeveless dress I have to wear in October, so I have decided that this, finally, will be the summer I don't end up with a farmer tan.

It's harder than it sounds. My starting color, formed from basically a lifetime of wearing nothing but t-shirts all summer, seems to be nicely bronzed forearms, and pale shoulders. I bought several sleeveless shirts, and I wear them constantly.

This won't even really be enough. A true tanning purist would probably point out that the top in question is actually a halter top (fastens around the neck, with bare shoulders), and all my shirts, and my swimsuit, are more tank-top shaped. I will wear this halter top to my sister's wedding, and it will obvious to one and all that I didn't really think this through. Small children will cry when they see my pasty-white tan lines.

(I will try to comfort them. "No, listen, it could have been SO MUCH worse. You didn't see me last summer." They will not be appeased, of course. Once a small child has stared into the abyss, there is no way to truly make up for it. All the small children I meet at Sarah's wedding will grow up to be axe murderers, probably. Years later, in therapy, it will be revealed that all of their issues stem from this one time that they saw a scary lady who didn't know how to tan properly. But I digress.)

I know what you're thinking. Who tans, anymore, anyway? The sun is bad now, who doesn't know that? It's all right, though. Getting A Little Sun, whilst doing outdoor activities=Good. Lying in the Sun, with a timer, and rotating every 20 minutes to assure even color distribution=Bad. Yup. Don't even try to tell me I haven't thought this through.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey