Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Review of last entry, and My Performance Review. I had no idea I had such a well-thought-out topic.
2006-06-19 12:50 p.m.

A few follow-up thoughts to the last entry:

As mentioned, I called my sister in a panic when the dress store told me they didn't do crepe. She called her personal sales wench at her local store to ask what the hell. Her personal sales wench was all, "This was in Madison, right?"

Apparently, I was right. The Madison David's Bridal does in fact exist in a parallel dimension to the rest of the chain. The DB philosophy is supposed to be geared around the concept of bridesmaids going to local stores instead of having to all get together in one place on the same day, but the Madison store wants no part of that ease and convenience to the shopper nonsense.

All around the state, other David's Bridal employees know that if something went crazy, it's probably Madison's fault.
***
Also in the last entry, I talked about how I'd have to keep my living room curtains closed now, and worried about the mental health of my cats.

The night after writing that, I was convinced Moo had in fact lost his tiny kitty mind. He spent an hour sitting in the cat tower, intently watching the curtain. Rijid had to point out to me that the living room curtain is actually not made out of say, bricks, and is a mere venetian blind. I happened to not have the slats completely closed, so Moo could still see outside, and apparently, that was enough. So, hooray.

George has been kind of a freak lately, so maybe he hasn't quite figured things out yet. It worries me, that George is maybe less intelligent than Moo, because Moo is really pretty dumb.
***
I'm not doing schedules right now, and it's wonderful. So wonderful, in fact, that other people at work are noticing. When we sat down for my performance review, Head Boss Lady said that in just the week since I stopped doing them, I'm back to being the person she thought could make a great RM. (I make people stop standing around and find things for them to do. I'm constantly encouraging associates, and making jokes. My closes are Teh Awesome.) This is problematic. Schedules would be one of my assigned duties, but if I'm doing them, I suck at everything else.

I think that part of the problem was that I was thinking about it too hard. I was quite literally obsessing over the damn schedules. No one wants to work Fri and Sat night every weekend, so let's try and not do that, S says she wants night hours, but then she wants to always leave at like 7:30 there must be a way around that if I just think about it a little more, C wants 30 hours a week but she asked off for five days in a row it's a simple logic problem I'm sure I can make that work somehow....

I was trying so hard to make Perfect Schedules that I kind of lost track of reality. In reality, it is impossible to give everyone the hours they want. I see that now.

Before handing the Evil White Scheduling Book over to K, I cleared out many symptoms of my growing madness. Everyone wrote me like 5000 notes about schedule changes weekly, and I kept all of them. If They argued with me, I would have concrete proof that at some point, They had said this was what They wanted. Don't argue with me I am Schedulinator and terrible is my wrath! Look at the GENIUS! Look at her stand in the ROOM!

So, I compiled an up-to-the minute master list of everyone's availability, and threw away several hundred little scraps of paper.

I forgot to do the same thing in the request off book. Instead of 600 or so notes, K found a mere 20. That was enough to make them question my sanity, though. In my performance review, HBL asked me what the hell was up with all the notes. I decided not to mention that two days earlier, it had been much much worse.

I got a 20 cent raise. I am now making more than the AM wage cap. HBL had to get special permission from her supervisor to do it. She said she'd still "really like" to see me salaried by July, but my scheduling neurosis is kind of an issue. After K learns schedules, HBL will sit down with me and help me figure out why I was spending eight-plus hours a week doing schedules instead of two or three.

I'm pretty sure I already know. Don't think about it so hard. After it's done, the associates will all trade shifts to suit their own whims anyway.
***
(Just in case you didn't start reading Achewood, even though I specifically told you to, "Look at the GENIUS!" is a paraphrase of something Teodor said after his scientifically-weighted aluminum underpants started to affect his brain. I guess either you got that, or you didn't. Go read Achewood, already. The link will take you to the prologue of the magic underpants storyline.)

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey