Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Cats are wonderful drunk babysitters, etc.
2006-07-04 11:57 a.m.

George really wanted me to wake up today. At some ungodly time, he leapt up on the bed and started crying. I assumed he was just being annoying, and went back to sleep. At 8am, he penetrated my consciousness again. I kicked him off the bed, and rolled over.

"Fuck you, cat. I had a LONG weekend, and this is my first more-than-five-hours consecutive sleep in about three days." (Close. Up early for LARP. In bed late because of LARP. Open. Fun!)

When George came in again at 9, I realized Rijid wasn't in bed with me, and got up to investigate.

George ran to the bedroom door, and looked to make sure I was following. Rijid was all drunk and passed out in the hallway. George looked at him, looked at me, and meowed again.

Then I felt bad. "Aww. Kitty was trying to be all Good Pet, and get help. That's so cute!" I tried to explain to George that sometimes humans do stupid things, and while I appreciated his concern, there really wasn't a lot I could do.

Rijid is in the bathroom now. George seems ok with this, (maybe he just didn't want puke on the carpet?) but Moo is sitting on the edge of the bathtub, watching Rijid throw up.

When Rijid wakes up, I'll have to tell him the cats were worried about him.
***
I probably drank as much by volume as he did, but I was doing VanillaCuddy's and Cranberry, so I'm fine. As a diabetic, the world of low-alcohol but sweet and delicious drinks is lost to him, and he drank many gin and diet tonics.

His birthday is today, but we both work tonight, so we got drunk at ShennanaRasp's last night. Shennanagoats drank many too, and we played some Settlers. Someday, I really must try playing that game sober. I might win that way.
***
The LARP was a lot of fun. Ellen was kidnapped and staked in a warehouse for most of the night, (Notes for non-gamers: In the game, staking a vampire doesn't kill her. It knocks her out of commission, but you have to destroy the body to actually kill a vampire. If someone removes the stake, you've got a chest wound, but it heals quickly.) so I did many NPC's (Non Player Characters). I ended up playing one of the NPC guards when the good guys finally came on their rescue mission. We were Sabbat guards (really evil and hardcore and anarchistic), so while we waited for the good guys to show up, we discussed torching the whole building, just for kicks. I wasn't entirely sure which side of the argument to join. Meta, it made my brain hurt. (Yeah, that is totally appropriate, but but that's ME in there, but I kind of want a new character anyway, but isn't that sort of cheating, etc.)

I received many compliments on my L'il Cthulu. One guy said that if he ever had a kid, he would pay me to make him one. I tried explaining that it had taken forever, and I was never going to crochet again. Dan pointed out that part of the reason it took so long was that for a lot of it, I basically had no clue. Now I know what I'm doing, a second one might go faster. Hmm.
***
I close tonight. I was scheduled for 11-7, but then we got a call that we had a few illegal immigrants who could no longer work for us, so they're running a person short for lunch and I'll close Cashier.

Dammit. The two people we got called on were both awesome workers, four or five closes a week each. (K's 1st comment: "So, I have to redo that schedule AGAIN?" I felt her pain, but Schadenfruede is fun.) A was a sweetheart, and the best Dish closer ever, period, but losing D is particularly sucky. He transferred from the Oshkosh store, where he was getting trained on manager stuff. He knew every position, so if something came up and one of your closers couldn't stay, you could pick a random volunteer closer who only knows one position, put her there, and put D somewhere else. I love cross-trained associates. And fast too. D would be on Kitchen, say, but wearing a drivethrough headset so he could get my back if necessary, or he would be the assigned Cashier, take an order and then run back to the kitchen to help make it. He had the energy and power of at least four mortal associates. If he was one of your closers, you knew it was all going to be OK.

K and I were both trying to convince Riker that a mistake had clearly been made. D is like 50 years old, he must have worked in Oshkosh for at least a year, and he was AM track. If he had a bad social security number, surely someone would have noticed it before now. Maybe Oshkosh doesn't run the yearly check of numbers. Bastards.

I spent a while yesterday thinking all sorts of unpatriotic things. I'd rather have a staff who does the job well than a bunch of clueless high schoolers. Thank God I'm an American, so I can have a job in food service.
***
I've been writing for a really long time. Just in case you got here from elsewhere, I'm doing this thing lately on MySpace where every time I update here, I change my tagline quote over there. Today, I kept picking subject after subject, hoping I'd eventually say something quoteworthy. Now, I think I've finally got my Money Quote, so I can go do something else.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey