Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Kind of a boring entry, actually. Sorry about that.
2006-06-07 12:13 a.m.

So, I BROKE my crochet needle last night. Dan suggested that it was a sign I was actually crocheting an abomination unto God. No one can crochet Evil and get away with it.

I was so close to being done with my little demon. I literally needed just FOUR stitches to finish up the top of the head. I didn't want to wait until I had a chance to buy a new needle, so I used the little two-inch hook stub. I am so hardcore.

(It occurs to me, now I have a perfect excuse to never crochet again. No needle. It's beyond my control. There's probably a very good reason why I can't spend 79 cents on another needle, and I'll tell you what it is as soon as I think of it.)

It is the coolest thing ever. It's even got googly eyes, so it looks vaguely muppetesque. Rijid said it looks creepy.

"But it's so CUUUUTE!"
"Yeah, that's what makes it creepy."
***
So, now I'm kind of at a loose end. Rijid asked me what my next Project was going to be, and I'm really not sure. I have so much spare time right now. The magical week that I scheduled a month ago, the one where I'm not doing schedules every goddamn waking minute because Riker wants to teach the way of the schedule to K, is actually starting Thursday. SHE'S going to have the headache of 400 people wanting off July 1-4, not me. ROCK!!

Maybe K will be learning schedules for two or three weeks. That would be nice. I don't think I'd mind doing them again eventually, (I kind of like the small bit of power I wield. Just last Sunday, I was scheduled to work 3-close. Sunday was the LARP. With one manager on vacation, and the other one with No Sundays set in stone, I knew I'd have to work. I traded shifts with another manager to make it an 8-5 instead, then exercised all the scheduling mojo I could muster. THREE kickass people were assigned 11-5 on Sunday, so at 2pm, I could turn to the other manager and say, "You don't really need me to stay, do you? You've got Blah and Blah and Blah. You'll be fine..." I AM SCHEDULINATOR!) but NOT doing schedules for even a little while will be so nice.

Technically, I'm not done with schedules quite yet. I thought I was done with the 6-22 week, but when I went into today, Head Boss Lady was all, "S had a crappy attitude today. Don't give her so many hours. Oh, and I'm sick of A too. Take him off entirely." I agree with the A ruling, and since he's currently only got two shifts in the easiest kitchen position, that's fairly easy. Fixing S is going to suck. Explaining to her why it happened will suck even more.
***
I'm going all over the place tonight. So far, it almost all follows logically. There were a lot of things passing through my head today, and I'm worried I'll get lost in a tangent and forget one of them. Give me a second to regroup.
***
Ah, yes. Loose ends. The Next Project.

After almost two years, I think I finally figured out a way to make my microscopic kitchen make sense. There was a kitchen table that we never used. A few days ago, I pushed it against the wall, intending to turn it into the counter space that I so desperately need. That seemed amazingly clever, but in practice, the table is actually about six inches too low to conveniently use as a food preparation surface.

Last night, I had a revelation. If I moved all the appliances to the table, I'd have a real counter, EXACTLY where I need it most. Brilliant!

I think that's what I'll do tomorrow. There's a stack of boxes that could go under the table, freeing up even MORE space, and then I'll clean the microwave and the coffeepot and the toaster before moving them of course....

Oh wait. This particular line of thought is probably only interesting to me.

I guess I'm done here.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey