Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Why I am a better person than Ellen Degeneres
2003-11-03 12:08 a.m.

Halloween was a good time. I almost said it was neat, but of course it wasn't. No neatness at all. But I did get to see many people, and the bottoms of numerous glasses.

Amanda, damn you for not coming. You were one of the people whose head I was going to make explode when you saw my costume. It was Tau, so of course there were others there who knew who I was supposed to be right away, but I wanted your reaction. Drew and Alys and George and Patti all got it. That's right. You also missed seeing George. See where your alleged "real life" got you?

I almost cried, though, at the ignorance of today's youth. "What are you, an albino?" "Uh..." "No, she's a goth!" "Ummm...." Then someone asked if I was supposed to be Marilyn Manson. NO. Oh my god, NO. Oh well. I guess you take certain risks by dressing up as someone only familar to comic book geeks from 10 years ago.

***

I always feel I really should Write Something. Then, I find I have nothing in particular I want to say. It's not like that stops Ellen Degeneres, of course, but I'd like to think I have at least a little integrity.

(I browsed through her new book at work the other day. I stopped almost immediately, and I've been a little annoyed with myself for even going that far for days. I actually really liked her standup stuff from back in the day, but it just didn't translate into book form very well at all. I'm never going to get those two minutes back. They're gone forever. Rant Mode On.)

If you get the chance, visit a bookstore. Find a copy of The Funny Thing Is.... Open it to a random page and start reading. In about 30 seconds, you'll hate yourself. You'll feel cheap and dirty and wrong. It really is that awful. As you claw out your own eyeballs in a desperate attempt to make the banality stop, you'll hate me too, for putting the idea in your head.

OK. Maybe it's not quite that bad. If you're into fluffy little bits of meh, that's kinda funny, than this is the book for you. There's just absolutely no substance to it. It's total bubblegum for your brain.

"I woke up today, and said, Hey! I'm going to write a book! Then I decided to maybe get dressed first. Then I thought, no wait, I'll shower, then I'll get dressed. And what is the deal with all that stuff in my closet anyway?" It's like reading a bad diary.

Oh, wait.

No no no. The difference is, I'm not delusional enough to expect people to pay me $23.95 when I write stuff like that.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey