Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

LARP, hair, slob.
2003-10-21 11:51 a.m.

So, remember 10 days ago, when I said I was going to start updating more? These things happen.

And it's not like you even missed anything. This is me wracking my brain to try and come up with something to talk about.

LARP was last weekend. Daisy entered her first combat, and was slapped down almost immediately. Silly me, spending all this time developing personality stuff instead of combat skillz. The ghosts of 1000 power gamers are screaming in my brain, but I really prefer the RP to the stats. So, why on earth did I make a Brujah anyway? You can't make a Brujah that's not a combat twink, can you? My original plan was to make a character who likes the combat situations, so I would finally be forced to figure out how this thing works.

Yeah, I'm dumb. All this time, and my brain still shuts down entirely whenever someone tries a challenge. My current rationalization is that since I only play once a month, I forget absolutely everything between sessions. I don't think there's even a basic book in my home anymore, which doesn't help. I really should get one of those.

***

The next big event in my life is of course Tau Halloween. I've got an awesome costume, but I'm still debating what to do with my hair. It needs to be black. I bought a wig, but it sucks. It would look so much cooler if I dyed my hair, but then I'd have to live with that for the rest of my life. Me, with black hair. I'd look ridiculous. I'd look like the poster child for Goth Gone Wrong. Oh, and then the roots would start to grow out, and I'd have to deal with that by becoming one of Those People, constantly dying my hair. That seems like far too much of a commitment for one night.

Besides, I really like my natural color. It's not quite blonde, but sometimes in the right light it almost is. But my hair is in fact perfect for the costume, long and not quite bone straight, and usually a little messy. It's just entirely the wrong color. The costume would be perfect, if I dyed my hair.

So, it's the epic battle between my vanity, and, uh, my vanity. Stay tuned for details!

***

There was something else I've been thinking about. I wonder what it was.

***

I'm not working today, huzzah huzzah. I didn't work yesterday either. I did apparently get a phone call yesterday at 7am, but since I had cleverly anticipated this and turned the ringer on the phone off before going to bed, I remained blissfully unaware until the shift they wanted me to work was almost over. Then, at like 2, the phone rang again. I was feeling paranoid, so I made Rijid answer it. It was just the bookstore, saying I didn't have to work that day. I knew that.

(Patti wanted a day off, and asked Mary to cover her day shift, and for some reason, Mary thought this meant I would have to work at night. Then, Mary looked at the schedule, and remembered that there are in fact two other employees besides her and me, and one of them was already written down. So, score.)

I did absolutely nothing yesterday, and it was good. Today, I think I'll spend an hour or so straightening up the apartment, and then a whole lot of nothing. ("Slobbing in the morning, slobbing in the afternoon, and then a nap to rest up for the main evening slob") I could totally get used to this.

Wait, you mean there are people who get two days off every single week? That's crazy talk!

Nope. Not even gonna go there.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey