Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Where am I, exactly?
2003-09-25 1:03 p.m.

If I didn't know better, I'd say I was sitting at the HAT right now. It's not, of course. The HAT, alas, is no more. But damn, are there a lot of computers here. There's a hugeass Diablofest going on in Dan and Hansland this week. KC and Jared each brought a computer, and Josh brought two. Six computers. At least eight hours of play a night. My friends are all crazy people.

(I'm not actually playing the Diablo, of course. I know my tolerance for the game is much less than anyone else's, and even if it wasn't, I'd be leaving early each night so I could get up and go to work the next day. Any character I made would quickly end up too far behind everyone else, and I didn't want to make them go through everything twice on my behalf. I'm doing Sims Superstar instead.)

(By the way, it is in fact still hilarious when one of them says, "I've got a Leather Armor of Power. Anyone want it?" and I say, "Yeah, I bet that would look stunning on Tabitha! She needs something new to wear while modeling!" I've made that joke like 5000 times now, and it just keeps getting funnier. Or maybe that's just me.)

The point is, everyone is now referring to Hans and Dan's place as the HAT. That's just not right. But we so need to call it something besides "Hans and Dan's place." Calling it the HAD (Hans And Dan) is lame. Hmm. Maybe it's not the HAT, but it is some other kind of hat. A BERET (Because Everyone Really Enjoys Technology), perhaps? A CAP (Computers Are Prolific)?? Hmm. This was where I was going to start making up clever new acronyms, but I'm stumped.

How about a contest? (KC was the only one who entered my last contest, but if I keep sponsoring enough of them, they will catch on. Eventually, I'll get a thousand or so responses to one of these half-assed rants. Can fame, wealth, and a cartload of dancing monkeys really be that far behind?)

This how it works: You have two weeks from today to leave a suggestion for a new clever name for Hans and Dan's apartment in my guestbook. The prize for the best name will be based on the number of responses I get. There will be something, no matter what. If you're the only one to say anything, you might just get a handshake. If, however, you convince a few dozen of your friends to play also, I will become so heady with my own ego (Behold! I have FOUR people who think I'm Kewl!) that I might just spring for something a little more meaningful.

Disclaimer: I am in fact very poor, and whatever the prize ends up being, it will probably have more emotional value than anything else. But enter anyway, dammit. It takes almost no time at all, and it's not like you have anything better to do right now. Besides, it's fun. I swear it. You won't do anything more fun all week long than spend 10 seconds making me happy. OK, you probably will. But you should enter anyway, because I said so.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey