Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

OK, I updated. Now leave me alone!
2002-05-22 5:37 p.m.

Jeez. I know I was doing stuff all weekend, with barely a minute to breathe, but I still feel bad, not updating for so long. You were all totally unable to sleep, not knowing what was going through my head every minute of every day, weren't you? Weren't you??

Oh. You weren't, then. You maybe didn't even notice. Screw you! I don't need you anyways!

***

OK, then. Recap.

Friday, work 11-8. The highlight was discovering that I really wasn't insane, I just have no clear concept of time.

See, I get paid every other week. It's a teeny little waitress wages paycheck, but it was an essential part of my financial plans. I went into work a week ago, and said, "Three cheers for paychecks!" and everyone looked at me funny.

Apparently, I had just gotten paid the week before. I had no memory of this at all. Obviously, I reasoned, I had blown the whole thing on vodka and cheap women, and forgotten about it. I couldn't think of any other explanation. I must have gotten a paycheck. Everyone else did.

So, it was going to suck to be me for a few days. I rethought out the finances, and it was a kind of grim week, but we made it.

Friday, I went in, and Nick gave me TWO paychecks. The one that I now firmly believed I must have signed over to Jizbo the Crack Dealer, cuz I sure didn't have it, had been in his office the whole time.

I hadn't actually paid for, then completely forgotten, a whole series of X-rated adventures. I'd just forgotten to pick up a paycheck. It was a comforting revelation. The best part was, I'd already survived a week with no cash, and now I had a bonus $150! Woot!

Saturday, work 7-3. Then, I went up to MediaPlay. I'd planned on buying my mom a belated Mother's Day gift, and my sister a graduation present. The original plan was to charge a couple of gift certificates, because I didn't think I had any money. But, with cash, all things are possible. I even allowed myself to run amok a little.

I felt strangely guilty, buying books in another bookstore. But, since I was mostly scouring the bargain shelves, I reasoned that I was getting these books at an even lower price than I would with 20% off at my bookstore. I'd be crazy not to buy them. And they were all so pretty, and begging me to take them home and love them. How could I say no?

Saturday night, D's sister was randomly in town. We drank many. I like her a lot.

Sunday was graduation. You can get much better idea of what that was like by reading the graduates, so go to it, if you are so inclined.

Monday, I was late for work, twice. First, I overslept. To make it even worse, I was supposed to be there at 11. It takes real dedication, to sleep through 11 o'clock. Especially when you go to bed by midnight. I really can't explain it at all.

At 4, when I left, I knew I had to be back at 7:30 for a staff meeting. By 5, when Paul called me about doing laundry, it had utterly slipped my mind. I was an hour late for the meeting. I know for a fact that all I missed were some stories from Nick's childhood, perhaps a few reminders about how we are a team, etc., but that's not the point. Who's late for work, twice in one day?

Yesterday, I spent more or less the whole day with other people. I realized that I hadn't actually had a solid hour of Quality Antisocial Time in at least a month. Well, maybe just a few days. But I needed it pretty damn badly.

I'm feeling a little better now, but I need to get off the computer so Paul will stop ICQing me. I've got a lot of reading to do.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey