Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

The day I saved Cowtown. No, wait. Make that, The Day I Saved Cowtown From Certain Peril. Coincidentally, it's also the day I upped my meds. But I don't think that's really relevant at all.
2001-04-08 8:36 p.m.

I had a mildly surreal moment at the laundromat today. I was sitting on the couch, and I smelled something burning. My first thought was, "I bet my clothes are on fire." I have no idea why I thought that. My clothes were in the washing machine, and presumably, dripping wet. My clothes have probably never been less likely to spontaneously burst into flames in all the time I've owned them.

I got up to investigate. There was smoke trailing out of the small garbage can right outside the laundromat door. So, I poured my full bottle of soda in the garbage can. There was a slight hissing noise, and the smoke stopped. I felt like a hero. I felt like a Big Man. Then, I realized that I really hadn't done that much. It wouldn't even really make a good anecdote for my journal. And, I no longer had a soda.

A woman had been sitting in her car, watching the whole drama unfold.

"Was that a fire?" She asked me.

"Yes," I said, trying to sound heroic, but knowing full well that I probably sounded like an idiot. "But it's out now." I went back inside, before I could add anything really silly, like "Fear no more!" or "My only reward, good citizen, is your smiling face!"

Maybe I saved the laundromat. Maybe if I hadn't gone out, that little bit of smoke would have turned into twelve-foot tall flames, engulfing the laundromat, the bowling alley, and maybe even K-Mart. Or, maybe I just wasted a perfectly good soda. Who can say? Who can really say? Who, I ask you, can really .....oh, nevermind.

***

I got an e-mail from Anne. She said she doesn't write in her journal so much anymore, because she has a "much less interesting inner life" than I do. That amused the hell out of me when I read it, but looking back at this entry, I think I see what she means now.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey