Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

It starts with a porch...
2001-04-11 11:18 a.m.

I spent a big chunk of yesterday afternoon reading on my porch. I was really looking forward to spending all of today doing the same thing, but it's all cold and rainy today.

I love having a porch again. When I was growing up, I spent 90% of each summer reading on my parents' porch. I'd forgotten how much I missed it till yesterday. It's kinda like being outside, except you've got a chair, and shade and stuff. My porch is even screened in. Sweet.

George is all over the porch too. When I opened the door out there for the first time last week, he was all "WOW! OUTSIDE!! I will go outside now, and the Hu-Man can't stop me! Lookit me! I'm outside! What are you gonna do about it, beeyotch?" I think he's totally forgotten about how the porch door was open 24/7 for him last summer. Cats have tiny brains.

***

Oh, and George calls both D. and me "Hu-Man." He always has. I'm not sure why. D. and I have this whole thing where at any time, either one of us can articulate what George would be saying, if he could talk. "Awake, Hu-Man! Now is the time for breakfast! I will bite your feet!" "What is this ball-on-string that you bring me, Hu-Man? This is not amusing." "This water is tepid, Hu-Man. It displeases me."

My cat talks like a bad Star Trek alien. Y'all are laughing now, but just wait and see what sorts of inbred jokes you come up with when you live with the same person for seven years.

The whole time I was growing up, I thought my parents were nuts. But I get it now. You develop a kind of verbal shorthand over the years, and it evolves into an entirely new language.

I was going to share some other examples of D-and-Anaspeak with you, but it's a little embarrasing. It's probably much better all around if I just cut this entry short.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey