Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Chicago is good, Chicago is good.
2000-05-09 14:08:39

Just called Christine. She says Augusta only asks about income so they can report it to the government. We are in no danger of being booted out.

Dammit.

It's crazy, but I think I really kind of wanted to be forced to move to Cowtown. I keep telling myself that Cowtown would not be good at all, but another part of me thinks it would have been fun. I'm even kind of hoping D. gets laid off. Then, we'd have to move to Cowtown.

I know that Chicago is better. Better jobs. Better food. Better entertainment. But it scares the hell out of me. I don't even know why. I was scared of moving to Milwaukee, and I ended up loving it. Even though we were butt-pathetic poor most of the time, it was a great place to live. And this time, I won't make the mistakes we made in Milwaukee. No roommates who might move out and leave us stranded. No keeping a shitty job when they cut the hours, instead of immediately looking for something else.

I'm afraid to even mention this to D., because I've gone back and forth on this so many times. He'll just say it doesn't matter to him, and we'll do whatever I want. But I have no idea what I want.

Chicago is good. Chicago is good. I will love Chicago. Oh, yes I will.

In Cowtown, we could plan with other people where to move next. Maybe NYC with Jack and Anne. Maybe New Mexico with Vincent. But I'm sick of moving. I want to move to one more city, and then maybe to a better apartment in the same city later on, and stay there forever. Maybe even buy a house. I'm sick of packing everything I own every few years. Chicago is somewhere I could concievably live the rest of my life. Cowtown is not.

Chicago is good. Chicago is good.

I actually talked with Arthur when I called. He relayed the conversation between Christine and me. I heard Christine say, "They'll never make it." That kind of pissed me off, actually. Maybe we will. I think I owe it to myself to find out.

That's really what it comes down to. Margaritaville is safe. But maybe I shouldn't be safe. Maybe I need to take a big step. Maybe I'll screw it up, but maybe I won't.

Chicago is good. Chicago is good. Chicago is good.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey