Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Once again, I learn that ranting at a keyboard really does help somehow. Why don't I ever remember this?
2007-03-21 1:29 p.m.

I'm sitting in front of the computer. I have a mug of coffee. I have almost two hours before I have to get ready for work. This must mean it's time to do an entry. Even on my days off, I haven't felt much like writing lately.

Part of that, probably the biggest part, is that I'm always tired. I'm spending roughly 55 hours a week either working or commuting. That's ridiculous. I keep trying to tell myself that I only have to keep this up till September. In Sept, my student loans will be paid off, and I can find another job, even if it doesn't pay quite as much.

Then it occurred to me that the student loans will eventually go away no matter where I'm working. Isn't my long-term sanity worth a few (more) months of slightly uncomfortable finances? Besides, what if a new job paid me the same, or dare I even think it, more?

Ah, but what if it's not my job that's making me feel like this? What if I'm not just terminally tired, but actually Depressed, with a capital D? What if a new job isn't enough to make me magically feel better?

I was trying to explain all this to KC, and she very logically pointed out that if a new job isn't what I need, then I can try something else. At least then I'll have eliminated one possible cause. I'll admit, this makes a lot of sense. If only I wasn't so damn tired....
***
I'm pretty sure I can't look for a new job right now, anyway. The April schedule is basically made out, and I'm on loan to the Madison store for a few days. (This leads to an interesting paradox. The schedule is always made out about a month in advance. I'd feel really bad about not finishing a month, once the schedule was done, but no employer anywhere wants someone who can start sometime next month. They're looking now, because they want to fill the position now. I'm pretty sure the only way out of this is to stay another six months or a year past No-More-Student-Loans Day, save enough money to get me through a period of not working anywhere, then give notice and finish out a month. That's clearly crazy-talk, so therefore, I'm stuck working at Fazuul forever.)

There's a flaw in that reasoning somewhere. I know that if I chose to give the mere standard two weeks notice, there's not a lot Fazuul can do. But it's not what I'm "supposed to do," because it would throw everyone else's schedule into turmoil. The point is, doing it now would screw two different restaurants. If I wait a month, I'm only hurting relatively few people. Yeah. Does that even make sense?
***
I'm hoping for a loophole. I'm secretly waiting for some kind of perfectly obvious reason why I can say "Oh, no, clearly, this will not do. Sorry, but as you can see, I have no choice but to look for another job, effective immediately." That sounds completely unrealistic, but it might actually happen.

Fazuul was recently bought out. The new guy's name is Bob. Area Supervisor Man just got back from a weeklong conference with Bob. Bob has all kinds of crazy ideas, and AS sent an e-mail, listing all of them. Most of them are redesigns of the menu, but there was one paragraph of AS's e-mail that really stuck out.

Right now, every restaurant has one salaried General Manager, one or two salaried Restaurant Managers, and a few hourly Associate Managers. As I understood it, Bob wants each restaurant to have one salaried GM, one salaried Assistant GM, one hourly Assistant Manager, and several Shift Leaders. D, the other current RM, is really the Lead RM, which means she already does everything that the GM does when he's not around. (I am the Another RM. It's not an official title, but what it means is that if I make the wrong decision without first consulting with the lead RM, she gets angry. I had a day of working with the GM recently. As had become my habit, I asked for his input on a minor decision. He said, why are you asking me? You're an RM. I trust your judgement. Oh, yeah. Right. I had forgotten. Anyway.) She has nothing to worry about. She gets a new title, but nothing really changes. Same with the AM's/shift leaders.

If this happens, I'm the one who gets seriously screwed. I would end up hourly again. Instead of a guaranteed 45 hours/week (usually, read "48-50") I'd get assigned about 35 hours/week. If I was clever, I could maybe stretch it into 39.5 sometimes, but never more than 40. Overtime is bad.

I don't know when, or even if this will take effect. Maybe Bob plans on letting the restaurants with three salaried staff just keep them till something happens to one of them. Maybe it was just a random thought Bob threw out there, and it won't happen at all.

Is it messed up that I want my job to screw me? It sounds pretty messed up.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey