Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Swimming and Cats
2005-06-15 10:40 a.m.

I realized the other day that I am actually living out one of my childhood dreams. I have a swimming pool. I can go swimming whenever I want.

OK, yeah. If I had thought of it, I would have specified a private swimming pool of my very own, and not merely living in an apartment complex that happens to have a pool, but it's still pretty sweet.

We moved here in Sept, more or less the end of Pool Season. There's also an indoor pool, but I never really got around to using it. Maybe this winter I will. I'm totally loving the pool scene. I went four times last week.

Thursday, I had the genius idea of swimming while doing laundry. Start the laundry. Walk outside. Swim. In 40 minutes, put the laundry in the dryer, and then swim some more.

I was actually looking forward to doing laundry again today, but it's all overcast and windy right now. Maybe it will be warmer by the time Rijid wakes up, and then he can come swimming too.

I don't think he's quite as enamored with the pool as I am, because KC and I were totally girling out the last time the three of us went together. (Hey, did you ever mermaid swim? Ooh, I LOVED that! Now let's have a tea party!!) I can do forward somersaults now. I never quite mastered them as a child, because I always had to hold my nose. I'm trying to work on backwards ones now.
***
We are now in day three of Project Two Cats. I think so far it's going about as well as can be expected. They have VERY different personalities though. Moussa has always lived with other cats. He's all, "Yeah, there's another cat out there. That's cool. Why can't I hang out with him?"

George spent the entire first night crouched by the bedroom door in Attack Mode. He hissed every time the door was opened, and hissed at me every time I came out of the bedroom smelling like The Intruder. At least he's not doing that anymore. I can come and go from the bedroom without him spazzing out.

If they happen to catch sight of each other, though, it's all bad.

George: Growl! Hiss! I am Alpha Cat!
Moussa: Yeah, ok. Your point is?
George: Hiss! I say to you, Grrr!
Moussa: WhatEVER, dude.
George: HISS!

Neither one of them makes any movement towards the other. George hisses, and Moussa just sits there looking bored. I think that confuses George even more. If Moussa would just hiss back, George could then justifiably kick his ass. But Moussa don't play dat.

I want this to be OVER already. I never realized what a wonderful convenience it was to have an open bedroom door. Where are my shoes? Oh, I bet they're in MoussaLand. (Open door. Listen to cats exchange greetings. Close door. Find shoes. Open door. Stop Moussa from leaving bedroom on my way out. Close door.) Now all I need is my hairbrush. Back to MoussaVille. (Open door. Close door.) Maybe I should just get ready for work in here today. There must be a ponytail holder in here somewhere. No? Well, back out to GeorgeLand.

The bedroom door sticks. I never even noticed. I'm noticing the hell out of it now, though.

I keep trying to talk to them about it.

"Moussa, let's find out if you like superballs. Hee. I guess you do. You know who else really digs superballs? Yeah, he's kind of being a jerk right now. I'm sorry. Just give him a little more time."

"Hey Georgie, guess where I just found Moussa. He was sitting in my t-shirt drawer, just like you always do. You like kitty treats, he likes kitty treats. You like windows, he likes windows. Really, you guys have so much in common. If you'd give him a chance, I'm sure you could be friends..."

Someday soon, I won't have to keep them in sepArate (Blush. Thanks, Dad) living quarters. I tried switching them about an hour ago, but George totally freaked. Maybe if he hadn't seem Moussa on the way in, it would have worked better. He used to love the bedroom.

He's lying in front of the door again now. Nothing hostile, of course. He's just lying there. But he will not be moved. Earlier today, he was snoozing on the couch, not even in sight of the bedroom door, as if there was nothing wrong in the world. Apparently, his brief visit to MoussaLand really messed him up, and now he has to play Border Patrol again for a while.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey