Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

funny-shaped dice
2005-01-20 2:55 p.m.

Ian runs a Champs game down here, and I am all conflicted. On the one hand, I am BORED. I want to meet people, and do stuff. However, he plans to move his game to Sunday afternoons. I don't think I can do that. Sunday afternoons means I would have to ask off every single Sunday. (Sunday evenings would mean I couldn't close, but I could work. That would probably be OK. But the first rule of food service is no one gets every single weekend off.) But, all the other established people in the game said Sunday afternoons were best. It doesn't seem fair of me to ask them to change it for me, especially since I'm not entirely sure if I'd stay in the game.

Some back story, perhaps. In college, I was in a few one-shots. They were ok. I was in one or two supposed campaigns, but they died after the 2nd or 3rd session. I enjoyed the storytelling aspect a lot, but I never bothered to learn the mechanics for any of the games, because it never really seemed important. This is just is another game that will die in a few weeks, so I don't actually need to learn any of this. I understand that there are dice involved.

My Junior year or so, I decided that was enough. I see now that it was just me being strange, but at the time, my own circular logic convinced me that I was never going to get the hang of the whole dice aspect, so why bother. Somehow, D being in all the games I tried felt a little strange too. My previous relationship had involved a lot of explaining myself every time I wanted to leave the room without him, and I didn't want to go through that again. I rationalized a whole bunch about how it was much healthier for D. to have an interest I knew absolutely nothing about, and let the whole world of funny-shaped dice pass me by.

Back to the present. Everyone in this Champs game is new to the system, so my stupidity will be less noticable, maybe. And, I thought of a fairly nifty character concept.

(She used to work in a circus, see. Amazo the Magician, and his assistant, the lovely Minda. Minda was hit on the head by a misthrown juggling pin/bitten by a radioactive bunny rabbit/something else clever and it unlocked all these freaky-deaky powers. She can read minds, and she can create mental illusions. For a few years, Amazo and Minda had the best touring magic act ever. With Minda's help, Amazo was doing tricks that absolutely no one could figure out. Then, Amazo turned evil. He came up with this plan of how together, they could rob a bank, and then retire to Florida. Minda realized This Was Wrong, and left him. She's looking for a superhero team to join, so she can use her powers for good.)

(Last night on Teen Titans, the villian was a magician. All of his attacks were magic-themed. He had one brilliant one where he took off his top hat and a swarm of bunnies with glowing red eyes flew out and attacked the Titans. Good stuff. If I end up doing this, I am so totally stealing that. I was kind of thinking of throwing playing cards, like whatshisname from the X-Men, but rabbits with nasty big pointy teeth is just hilarious.)

So. I think I want to do this. Now that I think about it, there are two managers already committed to working Sundays, because they're in school and can't work during the week. Tonight when I go in, I'll find out if this would be possible.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey