Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

penguins?
2002-04-07 9:52 p.m.

Hey, you know what's really cool about being overtired? Like six times today, I looked at my watch, groaned, and then realized I still hadn't set the time right yet. On six different occasions, I was thrilled to remember I was actually an hour closer to being done with work than I thought. ("Wait...it's actually....gimme a minute....10:30!! Woohoo!")

The whole daylight savings concept? A laugh a minute for me, today. Screw this sleep jazz. I'm gonna keep pushing myself till I see the dancing penguins and shit, yo.

***

So, you wanna hear all about the LARP, right? Right?

Well, no. You probably don't. But I'm pretty sure the penguins do. I am all about penguin satisfaction. I die a little, every time a penguin visits my site and leaves unfulfilled.

I swear, I'll stop babbling about penguins any minute now....

***

So. LARP. I think I liked it. I didn't hate it, anyway. I'm willing to try it again.

We got there super early. I thought this was a good thing. The more I thought about it, the more the mechanics behind the LARP made my brain hurt. You want me to get out and talk with people for eight hours, and then I get to meet them? How can this be??

I thought it might be helpful for me to meet the people behind the characters before I met the characters. It seemed all around less funky that way. Trouble is, I'm actually not very good at meeting people. I smiled a lot, I said hi to a bunch of folks, but then I was kind of at a loss. I had no real conversations with anyone. Finally, I gave up and went and hung out with the people I knew till game time.

The game started, and I spent maybe an hour in the grips of paralysing shyness. The only thought in my mind was that this was somehow appropriate, and I should just go with it. I talked softly, and briefly. I became really good at avoiding eye contact. I got myself to the point that I was so nervous, I screwed up my background info talking with BT.

That really wasn't much fun at all. Gradually, I got out of it, but I still didn't accomplish very much. I actively avoided a few scenes because they frightened me, and apparently completely missed a couple dozen others. But, I wasn't really ever bored, either. Very strange. Maybe now that I kind of understand what's going on, I'll do more next time. And there is actually stuff I wanted to do, that I never got to try.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey