Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Various and Sundry Babble.
2001-04-13 10:38 a.m.

Lots of assorted rants today:

First of all, D. accepted an invitation to go to his sister's for Easter. He knew that I had already told my parents we'd be there. Grumble grumble.

He's got such a strange relationship with his family. Basically, even though they live in the same town, his parents only call him for holidays. But, they expect him there for every holiday. I shouldn't talk. It's actually pretty similar to what things with my parents seem to be rapidly devolving into.

It makes me feel dirty, gossiping about D's family. I'm going to stop this now.

***

And in other news....

D. worked last week. He worked this week. He's gonna get overtime next week. Vincent says both plants are actually short on people right now, and for a few months at least, there will be more hours available than a stick could be shaken at. Maybe even a dozen sticks. Words can't even express how relieved I am. I honestly had no idea where the money would come from if he missed another week. It should take me maybe a month to regroup, and get all the things getting dangerously close to delinquent back where they should be, and it will be all good. Yaay. I'll say it again. Ya-fucking-ay. With a side of uninhibited glee on toast.

***

So, Activation is this weekend. It's actually my week to work the crappy Saturday night shift, but I'm not saying even one word. It's tricky enough that I'm gonna throw things out of whack for Formal weekend by asking for the whole weekend off. Yup. I'll take my Saturday night shift now, thanks, so there's no way in hell I'll get stuck with it in two weeks.

(Note, cuz I sometimes get hits from total strangers, and I don't want to alienate them by talking about things they don't understand: Activation is when all the little Tau pledgies become full members of the House. Big party. Formal is um, a "formal" party that attracts dozen of alums from all sorts of strange places. I was going to say it's a more sophisticated affair, but it isn't really. People just wear nicer stuff. And, more importantly, more alums show up.)

***

So, in my Anacentric view of the universe, it suddenly seems like everyone wants a piece of me. Warren wants to put links to diaries on the Tau Alumni site. At first, I wasn't going to let him put mine, but then I decided that was just the paranoia talking.

I can think of maybe 4-5 entries that might get me in trouble. Then, I realized that all of them are buried in the archives. And even if they get dicovered, and if the people involved decided to be pissy about things I had written months ago, it would at worst, lead to conversations that I should have had a long time ago.

Besides. There are a half dozen people that I've been trying to work up the nerve to say, "Hey, I suck at writing letters, but I do still love you, and I think about you a lot. Come share this piece of me." Nages. Matt. Kenny. Nurgle. Angie. And countless others.

So, I'm a'comin out. I'm burning the closet behind me, or something. Love me.

And in related news, I love the DiaryRings. I want to join every single one that will have me. I'm strongly tempted to pay Andrew the $30, or whatever it is, just so I can start dozens of my own. I am such a hitslut all of a sudden. (Note: That word was way too hard to type. Hutslit? Shithut? Jeez.)

***

I don't wanna say, "OK, that's it. I'm gonna stop now." Seems like I've ended every entry that way lately.

See, I reach this point where suddenly, I don't want to write anymore. My brain just shuts down. I always feel like I should wrap things up somehow though.

Maybe I'll start ending all my entries with jokes, or something. As soon as the guy walks into the bar, y'all can start gathering your mental coats, and preparing yourselves for the end of the entry.

***

So, a guy, an ostrich and a cat walk into a bar.

The guy says, "I'll have a gin and tonic."

The ostrich says, "I'd like a screwdriver, please."

The cat says, "I want half a glass of beer, and I'm not paying."

The bartender gets the drinks, and says, "OK. That'll be $4.75."

The guy reaches into his pocket and pulls out exactly $4.75. They drink their drinks and leave.

The next day, they come back.

The guy says, "I'll have a rum and Coke. Make it a double."

The ostrich says, "I'd like a strawberry margarita, please."

The cat says, "I want half a glass of beer, and I'm not paying."

The bartender gets the drinks, and says, "OK, that'll be $8.40."

The guy reaches into his pocket and pulls out exactly $8.40. They drink their drinks and leave.

The next day, they come back.

The guy says, "I'll have an old fashioned, and a double cheeseburger."

The ostrich says, "I'd like a fuzzy navel, and some french fries, please."

The cat says, "I want half a glass of beer, and I'm not paying."

The bartender says, "OK, that'll be $12.27."

The guy reaches into his pocket, and pulls out exactly $12.27

The bartender says, "OK. I'm really curious. Every day, you guys come in here, and every day, you have exactly the right change. How do you do it?"

The guy says, "Well, a few years ago, I found a magic lamp with a genie inside. He said I could have two wishes. My first wish, I said I wanted to never have to think about money again. Any sum anyone named, I wanted to be able to just pull it out of my pocket."

The bartender says, "Wow. That's really smart. I mean, even if you wish for a million dollars, you'd run out of money eventually. But this way, you're set for life. And, you never have to deal with a pocketful of loose change. You must be a really smart guy."

The guy says, "Well, I'm not that smart. My second wish, I asked for a chick with long legs and a tight pussy."



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey