Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Me, me, me.
2000-10-20 13:56:12

I just found out that one of my uncles is in the hospital. Cancer of the throat, and he responded badly to the treatment somehow.

This is bad and all, but the one thing I can't stop thinking about is what a relatively small effect this has on my life.

God, that sounds cold. The man has a wife and two small children to support. He's a good guy. But I really don't feel a thing emotionally.

Gaah! Coming right out and saying that makes it even worse. And makes me feel even worse. Which is even more worse to say.

Me, me, me. It's all about me. Isn't that awful?

He's one of only two uncles on that side of the family. My mom is probably really torn up about this. Gramma sounded upset when she called just now. And think about Lisa, and Jesse, and little Whatshername.

I think that's the main reason I'm not really feeling anything. I really haven't seen a lot of him or his family in a while. I saw them for maybe an hour last Christmas. Before that, I don't think I saw him at all for maybe three years. Somewhere in there, he married someone named Lisa, who had a roughly six year old son. At some nebulous later point, he and Lisa had a daughter. I don't even have a clue what he does right now.

So, maybe that lets me off the hook, emotionally. Or maybe it just adds a whole new level of guilt. My own flesh and blood, or something. I should have a reaction.

Uncle Randy, in my own way, I'm sorry. I'm mostly sorry that I'm not more sorry, but I do feel for you. Lisa seems nice, and your kids look sweet. I hope you get through this, for their sake, and for the sake of everyone who does know you. I wish I did.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey