Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

make a hole with a gun, etc. etc. etc.
2000-04-16 17:02:46

I've just spent far too long typing out the lyrics to "Ana Ng." I stopped and deleted it, because I knew that if I didn't take immediate drastic action, I probably would have typed out the whole damn album. As much as that might have amused me, it wouldn't have made for a very good entry.

I've noticed that in at least one aspect, an online journal is significantly better for me than a paper one. Because I can't ever forget that I have the possibility of an audience, I'm much less inclined to obsess over things for weeks at a time. In my paper journal, nothing would have stopped me from writing dozens of entries about money, or what exactly moving back to Cowtown would really mean. I would go over and over every possible angle, and end up doing nothing but repeating myself, and feeling worse every time I thought of a new way to phrase the same basic idea.

Here, though, I've neatly avoided the whole vicious cycle. I know that my teeming millions would tire of me going on endlessly about Cowtown. So I make an effort to think of something else to talk about.

(Today, the subject just happens to be "Why I am not talking about Cowtown." There's a difference, dammit.)



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey