Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I'm back, again
2007-06-22 11:26 p.m.

Hellloooo, Internet! I'm back! AGAIN! This time, I really think the computer is going to be ok. We installed the little pinlike things, and they didn't seem to make any difference. Rijid took the computer back to the shop, and the guy did all kinds of computer mojo. A new motherboard was involved, and also more RAM.

The computer is so fast, now. My ultimate litmus test? I convinced it to play Sims 2 with me. The old computer would play it, but it lagged a lot. Two months ago, this computer would have had a nervous breakdown if I even waved the disk at it. Now, however, I can play like anything. I did that all day yesterday. It was awesome.
***
My second interview at the bookstore was last Thursday. I don't think it was a very good interview. I was kind of flustered, because I couldn't find the right room, and ended up showing up at about 10:31, just as the guy came out of his office to look for me. I wasn't technically late, but I wasn't sitting calmly in a chair waiting for him, either.

I could have answered all of the questions more thoroughly. As I was driving home, I thought of about a hundred things I had neglected to mention.

I haven't heard anything back yet. Sigh.

Maybe I came off better than I thought I did. After all, they wouldn't know it if I didn't mention something. I made a few jokes, and they laughed at them. ("Where do you see yourself in five years?" "Working in a bookstore." It's the obvious joke, of course, and not particularly funny, but if they hadn't laughed, it would have been a little awkward.) Rijid said the most important thing is that I expressed myself honestly. I did indeed. I projected an air of confidence. Yes. Yes, I did. Maybe it's just taking them a while to check references and such.

Monday, I'll call them. Maybe Weds. I'm a little afraid to call, because then I'll know for sure that I didn't get it.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey