Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

So how was YOUR holiday weekend?
2007-05-29 12:50 p.m.

I had the interview. I thought it went fairly well, and apparently they did too. I have a second interview scheduled for June 14. That's such a long time to wait, and to stress. I'll never make it.

I spend basically every waking minute obsessing over this: If I get the job I think I'm going to buy a bicycle. (There's so many bike trails here, I've lived here three years, I'd really like to know more of the city than just point A to point B by major streets only.) What am I even talking about, I can't possibly get this job. I'd have so much money. And most weekends and evenings off. The "skill test" in the first interview turned out to be counting a register, I do that at least three times a day. If anything, I'm overqualified. Yeah, but is that a good thing? Besides, the job market here is pretty competitive, what if the other candidates are even more overqualified? OH GOD isn't it June 14 yet?

And repeat. I can only hope the other candidates are equally stressed out. Maybe it's some sort of psychological test. Whichever one of us isn't a complete gibbering maniac by the 14th gets the job.
***
Fazuul was extra painful this weekend. The main register went out. This meant we had no way to run all the managerial reports. Also, since the other registers communicate with the printer and the kitchen through the main register somehow, the cashiers had to enter the order into the register to find out the total, then rewrite the ticket by hand and give it to the kitchen.

I tried giving the cashiers a crash course in how oldschool waitresses deal with handwritten tickets. (Write the side salad in the lower left corner. The kitchen doesn't need to know that, and you'll just slow them down. Go ahead and abbreviate, but use the same abbreviations each time.) Some of them got it, some of them didn't. I spent a lot of time explaining to the kitchen that "Sal-F Reg Coke" is nothing to them, just ignore it. Well, ok, but then what about the "S-Ranch" on this ticket here?

Sigh. It was probably a really slow weekend, but labor just had to suck because I needed the extra people just to keep things functioning only slightly slower than normal. When Fazuul finally deigns to send us an on-site technician, Area Supervisor will see our stats and be very angry. (And what exactly is up with that? The restaurants have to be open on weekends and holidays. WHY doesn't the tech support staff keep the same hours?)


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey