Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Cows and cameras
2006-08-02 12:10 p.m.

I am not going to whine about work in this entry. I will mention, briefly, that yesterday's Suck University (See what I did there? I'm so witty!) was all about how to conduct an interview, and warning signs to look for in an interviewee. The evil, planning-ahead part of my brain vowed to make good use of this information someday, when I'm on the other side of the interview table again.

This was probably the most useful Suck U. ever. Not quite worth driving THREE hours for, but since K drove, I can't even really complain about that part too much.

Enough work talk. Moving onward. (No, I DON'T know yet. Argh. Not even gonna go there today. Onward.)
***
Paul came to visit Sunday. He'd somehow never even heard of Arrested Development so I did what I could to fix that. Also, we wandered downtown to look at the cows.

I don't think I've mentioned the cows. All along the Capitol square, there are these life-size statues of cows, painted in gaudy colors, and given ridiculous names. "Rocky Moococo." "Georgia O'Kowffe." They make me very sad. Oshkosh did the same thing a few years ago, but with lions. Lions are kind of cool. Oshkosh got lions, but here, in the state capitol, self-proclaimed cultural oasis of the state, we've got COWS. Cows!! I was going to take a picture of Georgia O'Kowffe for you, but I felt too self-conscious. The Cows showed up a few months ago, and after a brief period of horror and numbness, most of the locals just try to ignore them now. I felt too much like a tourist, whipping out my camera to take photos. People would think I was encouraging this nonsense. Much better to pretend we're still the coolest place in the state.
***
I am using my camera for all sorts of useful things, so that's cool. When KC moved into her apartment, she decided the white walls had to go. When she moved out, they had to come back. Ian suggested we take a few photos of the apartment pre-repainting, so she would have proof to show her landlord that even if her repainting wasn't perfect, she had at least tried to do the right thing. This looks like a job for Girl With A Camera! Hooray!

Then, Paul wanted photos of his new car, to e-mail to his Mom. I was happy to help him out.
***
The Mod on that one message board finally got back to me. He got my story, and he's working on the book RIGHT NOW. I'm going to be a real, hard-copy, Published Author. (OK, yeah, technically, since he's self-publishing, maybe I can't count this. But I'm going to, anyway. GOOOOO, me!) Look for My First Physical Publication available on some site you've never heard of sometime soon!

I'm not really sure if there are any legal technicalities involved, but there might be, so I will not be posting my story here. Instead, if you hit "previous" you get to see another story I wrote for this message board.

Someone was all, hey, let's have a contest. The rules were, you had to mention "the moon," "sideboard," "Croesus" and "the virgin/whore dichotomy." There was also a brief period where the theme was slashfic about fellow board members. I kind of took that idea and ran with it, even though I don't know any of the regulars well enough to do that. I feel I should point out here that my character "Croesus" is in no way based on anything I have seen on that messageboard /legal disclaimer.

(According to Wikipedia, "slashfic" does not mean what I think it means. I technically wrote erotic message board fiction, not slash. I feel so hopelessly naive.)

Anyway. I wrote something kind of risque. The prize at stake for this contest is just a random CD, and I will never try to publish this anywhere else, so of course I'm putting it here.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey