Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

My writer's block is purple, with fangs. And you?
2006-03-31 1:06 p.m.

There is no denying the Urge to Write. It starts as a nagging feeling in the back of my head. "I need to...do something."

If I ignore it, it only gets more insistent. "Something! Do it! Do it NOW!" I'm never really sure what the Something is, but sitting in front of a keyboard and babbling for a while somehow helps.

(I suppose it might actually be an urge to do something entirely different. If I only knew what my mind was trying to tell me, I could have maybe discovered a cure for cancer or learned to levitate. But I've always assumed "Do Something" must mean "write something" so that's always what I try to do.)

Writing cures the symptoms, not the disease. When these fits come upon me, I write. Then, for a little while, it's all ok.

Part of the problem is that the Urge rarely comes with a satisfactory idea. I end up shooting off a diary entry about work, or laundry, or my cats. It's easy. I could do it a hundred times without thinking. The trouble is, it's the mental equivalent of being hungry and eating a pound of cotton candy. Empty brain calories. No real substance or nourishment.

Granted, the Urge is appeased for a little while. But then it comes back, and it's pissed off. "SOMETHING!! I told you to do something, and you did THIS?? Why won't you just do the something, already? It's such a simple little something, you could have done it eight times already by now..."

OK, I'm sorry, let me try again. Here is another diary entry for you.

"A diary entry, eh? Hmm... *munch munch munch* AAAARRGH I said I wanted Something, and you insult us both by giving me this?"

Repeat, every day, forever. I'd like to say that I know eventually I'll get an idea of real substance, and then the Urge really will be satisfied for a few months. Right now, though, that just doesn't seem possible. I've got an angry writer's block growling in my head, and it won't even tell me what it wants.

It's a scaly little purplish-greenish-black thing, with stumpy legs and fangs twice as long as its face. It slobbers in my ear, and I can't think of anything except that it's there and it won't go away. If it would just leave me alone and let me think, maybe then I could understand what it's trying to tell me.

Maybe it IS the idea. I could write a story about how I've got this warty bruise-colored idea sitting on my shoulder, drooling down my neck, and I can't do a thing about it. The story begins, "There is no denying the Urge to Write...."

Nah. Too obvious.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey