Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

scheduling rant
2006-04-05 1:27 p.m.

It's 1:20, and I am DONE with all the responsible stuff I had to do today.

I woke up at 8:30. Rijid has the schedule from hell this week, (He works 10pm-4am most nights. This week and next, he is doing training for a second job from 9am-5pm. Once the training is done, he can set his schedule for the 2nd job to something sane, but until the training is done, sucks to be him.) so we hung out for a while.

From 9-10:30, I was engaged in important scientific research. I was trying to determine whether slacking is more enjoyable when there is a specific list of goals to avoid, or if it really is better to get everything done and then relax guilt-free. Results were inconclusive. Further study is needed.

I started the laundry, and vacuumed. (This was made much easier than usual, because Rijid had actually picked up the living room last night. He rocks.) I changed the laundry, and did more slack research. I finished the current week of schedules. I folded the laundry. I did the dishes, and had the obligatory moment of turning around, and seeing more dirty dishes. (DAMMIT! The living room is completely clean! How could I have missed those? Those dishes simply were not there 10 minutes ago...)

Now, I'm here. Life is good. I don't have to think about schedules again till...er...tomorrow. Sigh. (IT NEVER ENDS OHGOD IT NEVER EVER ENDS!)

Looking ahead though, it should be an easier week. The 4-13 week really was a pain in the ass to figure out. My main pasta guy who works Mon-Fri 8-4 asked for a week of vacation. There are other day people who know how to do his job, but that means they can't be doing the 1.5 other positions I'd prefer to have them in.

Weekdays suck. In an average week, I have just barely enough people to make it all work. S gets Mon off. C gets Mon and Thurs. K only works Mon Tues and Thurs. M and L and D really don't want more than 5 shifts a week, and they're also usually a vital part of my weekend plans.

It's true. Good help really IS hard to find. Especially for days. I have the opposite problem with nights. I have high schoolers coming out of my ass, and they all want as many closing shifts as possible. There's also the two girls who are doing a work/study thing, and NEED 20/week to graduate. One of them has a sister, and the sister keeps asking me why V gets more hours than she does.

Sigh. In just six short weeks, I can make schedules with all the teenie-boppers out of school, and probably no longer on any teams. (Oooh, the teams. I HATE all high school team practice schedules right now.) I spend an alarming amount of time lately fantasizing about the summer scheduling. Hours, for everyone who wants them! Cross-training will be plentiful! EVERYONE will learn pasta! It's like some wonderful dream.

In any case, once R. has his damn vacation out of the way, weekdays will just go back to merely kind of sucking till June. The only foreseeable glitch in the 4-20 week is 4-20. National Stoner Day, and all. Even that's not insurmountable. 10 people asked off, but I think they're all night staff. That still leaves me 20 or so high schoolers who will happily take the hours. And, as I said half-jokingly to one of the other managers, a list of everyone who wants 4-20 off is a very useful sort of list to have. (He blushed, and said he asked off for the whole weekend, because it's his dad's birthday. Yeah, whatever.)

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey