Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Care for some whine with those breadsticks?
2006-03-15 11:06 a.m.

As near as I can tell, Tuesday the 7th was my last completely work-free day. Tomorrow may be one. Otherwise, I'm booked solid all the way to the 22nd.

It's not as bad as it sounds. There are days off in there. Strangely, though, I seem to spend at least part of them at work. Thursdays are traditionally the manager meeting days. I have to be up early and at work at 9am.

I shouldn't complain. On days when I open on Thurs., I end up going in an hour early, so I can spend an hour in the meeting and still get all my shit done. If I do the 11-8 shift, there's an hour to kill between meeting and work, and I usually end up spending money I don't really have. The closing Thursdays annoy the hell out of me, because I have to make the 1/2 hour drive to the other side of town TWICE.

(Really, the only person who benefits from the meeting time is Head Boss Lady. She talks to us for an hour, then spends an hour in a conference call with the other GMs in the area, then works the 11-7 she cleverly scheduled herself for.)

I don't have to be in uniform for the meetings. I can drink coffee. After the meeting, I get an ENTIRE day awake, and not working, instead of sleeping through half of my day off. The Thursdays I don't work are infinitely preferable to the ones I do. But realizing that I will have gone into work every single day for two goddamn weeks rankles.

Last Saturday, there was no meeting. There was a catering order that had to be delivered. It had to be delivered right in the middle of dinner rush, so the two scheduled managers couldn't do it. One manager was out of town, and one is temporarily sans car. I sighed, and said I could do it. (Lookit me, volunteering for extra responsibilities! I'm so awesome! Please give me a salary now...) Drive to work. Drive downtown. Drive back to work to drop off catering payment. Home.

It was as I was driving home that I realized exactly what I had done to myself. I suck.

Tomorrow is 90% of a day off. Close five days in a row. (St. Patrick's is in there somewhere, sigh.) OFF on Weds. the 22nd. Open the following Thurs. (whimper) Then, ah, then. An honest-to-god three day weekend, that falls on a weekend, even. Sweet.

If I can only make it through the 22nd, it will all be good. I'll just keep telling myself that.
***
The only tricky part will be getting the schedules done. I think that ideally, I have the next two weeks done before my long weekend, so I don't have to scramble and do it all the Monday I come back, but I'm pretty sure that I'm already scheduled for about 39.98 hours. I'm not supposed to get overtime, if I can help it. There will be no going in an hour early this week. I think that I'll have to explain to HBL that I really will need at least a few hours of overtime.

(I just figured it out. In the 5-closing-shift madness, I'm currently scheduled for 43.5 hours, out of 40, not even counting the schedule issue. Interesting. JUST PAY ME THE DAMN SALARY ALREADY. Did I say that out loud?)
***
This is all whining, and probably only interesting to me. Dammit. I've done a lot of work rant entries lately. I told myself last time that I wouldn't do any more for a while. I guess that plan starts with the next one. Maybe.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey