Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Tender is the night. That's when a lot of people sleep, you know. Ah, tender, tender, sleep.
2005-01-25 10:43 a.m.

I'm finally reading Tender is the Night. I keep thinking, "I can not possibly have just read that sentence. NO ONE writes prose that fucking good." But my man F. Scott most certainly does. ("Perverted as a breakfast of oatmeal and hashish"? And later in the same paragraph, "No one knew what this room meant because it was evolving into something else, becoming everything a room was not." I mean, really. How can a sentence like that even exist?
***
It's very early. Or, perhaps it's late. Technically, it's 10:47 am, but that's kind of irrelevant. This mortal concept that you call "time" is intruiging, but--

Wow. Let's try a sane paragraph now.

Rijid works from 10pm-4ish am. I keep doing foolish things like napping from 2am till he gets home. Sometimes, I go right back to sleep within an hour. Sometimes, I'm really dumb, and read till 7. I couldn't really get back to sleep after that, so at 9 this morning, I finally accepted that I've had all the sleep I can reasonably have for a while.

This sucks. I'm not going to get a chance to sleep again for a really long damn time. Coffee can only get me so far. My day is just starting, and I'm already beginning the descent into gibberish. At like 6 tonight, I'm just going to collapse into a whimpering puddle of exhaustion, but then I'll still have to work for FIVE MORE HOURS.

Time for coffee!!
***
("Often people display a curious respect for a man drunk, rather like the respect of simple races for the insane....There is something awe-inspiring in one who has lost all inhibitions, who will do anything." See? DO YOU SEE?? That's exactly what I'm talking about. I'm going to name my firstborn F.)
***
Due to a long, complicated string of events, KC used my cell phone last night. When I got home, my phone was not where I left it. "That's fucking great. She took my phone with her. Why did she do that?" (In my defense, I had spent the previous 1/2 hour trying to get my car out of the snowbank where I had foolishly tried to park it. Don't even ask. This is the part of the story where I was in theory not all stupid and sleep-deprived.)

At 8am, I realized how smart it would have been to call KC an hour ago, but now she would have left for work STILL WITH MY PHONE and it was too late. I cursed at KC a bit more.

At 10am, I randomly found my phone. I'd probably looked right at it at least a dozen times. (KC, even though you didn't even know, I apologise for being so mad at you.) As I picked it up, it started vibrating. It was work calling.

"I feel really sick, I only slept for two hours, but I thought, 'Hey, two hours, I'll be fine' but now--"

"Hee. Oh, I understand completely! Two hours of sleep is AWESOME!"

"*blink blink*(Yes, I heard her blinking into the phone, dammit) Um, OK. *blink blink* But now I feel like shit. Can you come in early tonight?"
***
And, that's about where things are right now. Since I was awake so ludicrously early, I did most of the laundry and cleaned my bathroom. This means that tomorrow, when I have the day off, I'll get to sleep. That is going to rock.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey