Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I haven't done a "waah money sucks" entry in months. I'm long overdue.
2004-01-29 11:27 a.m.

Money sucks. I realize this will probably not come as a revelation to any of you, but this whole week has been reinforcing the concept for me.

Ze Plan was at one point, to take the tax return money, and add it to the $1000 in savings, and move probably by the end of summer at the latest. There was an alternative plan too, of maybe paying off the car with the tax return $$ instead, and then having extra money and putting most of it in savings, but occasionally buying or doing something fun.

Sunday, I figured out my taxes. State and Federal together will be about $200. $200?? That's not enough to move. That's one car payment. Damn the Man!!

Yes yes yes. It's more money than I'd get if I didn't file, and considering my normal budget, a bonus $200 is really nothing to sneeze at. But in my mind, the magical tax return money had inflated to the point where I was fantasizing about getting the cat gold-plated, and maybe buying a tropical island or two. That's not gonna happen.

I even know that my financial straits are very far from dire indeed. I know several people to whom the idea of paying the phone bill on time is like some wonderful dream. I have Enough Money. Juuuust barely, but everything does in fact get paid. And really, compared to this time last year, I'm golden. A mere two credit cards, instead of four, and none of them are even overdrawn anymore. Also, I've discovered that it really is easier to pay utilities as the bills arrive, instead of letting them pile up until it's almost too late.

But but but. I want to move! I want to buy about 500 books and DVD's! I want new shoes! I want to LIVE dammit, LIIIIIIVVVEE!!!

Sigh. According to my calculations, in June, the car will finally be paid off, and everything will get a little easier. See, then I can go back to working on the credit cards. Then, in about a year, joy joy joy, I can start really kicking the student loans' asses. In like four, maybe five years, I'll be debt-free.

***

So, the big picture is a little scary, but if I can handle a mere five FUCKING more months of living hand to mouth, it will be marginally less scary.

Let's look at the day to day budget. George had to go in for his shots today. Last time, he raised holy hell at the vet's office, and his blood test came back a little off. The vet said it might have been a mistake on her part, because he was trying to claw out her eyeballs at the time. She recommended we do another blood test today, just to make sure there's nothing wrong with him.

Today, he was a model patient. I couldn't believe it. He yowled a little as he received the shot, but she didn't even have to put on her industrial strength leather kitten gear to hold him down. The blood test came back all good. That's great. I'm happy for him. But I had to pay $25 extra today because last time, my cat was a psycho freak.

The point is, I could have used that $25. I'll be spending a lot this weekend, and having a little more would have been nice. I'll still be able to make rent without it. I'll even still probably be able to have an enjoyable weekend without it, but it's just so frustrating. Every time I think I've finally got even a little extra money, something happens.

If I were prone to fits of paranoia, I might begin to obsess over stuff like this. Clearly, Someone is devoting a lot of energy and resources to making sure that I always feel poor. Sooo, the cat needs money thrown at it, the exact same day I was planning on turning in my change jar for extra money for the weekend? How.....convenient.

It's sure lucky that I never think stuff like that.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey