Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

mostly coffee
2004-01-13 2:25 p.m.

OK. I somehow scored two days off in a row, and I did all kinds of resposible stuff yesterday, so today is a total Me Day. I love those. The cat has been fed, my diary looks pretty, the apartment is fairly clean. I've got absolutely nothing I have to do. Woohoo!

Oh, wait. I promised Paul I'd drive him to Appleton today. Damn him. That will only take a few hours, though, and I haven't really gotten very much Paul Time lately either. I like the Paul Time. He'll actually be calling fairly soon, probably, but I can write a little until then.

***

Mmmm. Coffee. My parents gave Jared an espresso machine for Christmas, and Sarah gave him a grinder. That kicks ass on so many levels. First, of course, this means I now have a coffee grinder and an espresso machine. But the kickage of ass goes even further.

Jared was all "My family goes INSANE over Christmas. You're going to get like 20 presents." I knew my family wasn't going to be able to, or even want to, compete with that. I was afraid he'd be disappointed.

But, my family rocks. Without spending a cracklike amount of money, they found ideal gifts for him. In general, he's really into gadgets and tools. AND, these are gadgets that produce COFFEE!! How cool is that?

***

While I was on vacation, the bookstore hired someone new. I lost the Sunday shift, which kind of sucks, but I can easily pick up Sunday restaurant hours, which sucks even more.

Dammit. I can't do the restaurant hungover. There was really no problem at all with staying up all night Saturday, and then bookselling for eight hours, but I know from experience that trying to do the restaurant in anything less than peak condition is a bad idea.

***

Paul is here now, so I should go.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey