Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Different kinds of gaming.
2002-11-20 8:11 a.m.

It's way too early. Why the hell am I awake? Perhaps it is because I have something really important to say, and I just don't know it. Probably not, but I might as well sit here for a while and see what develops.

KC rocks, by the way. My Victorian LARP outfit is so pretty! I'm trying desperately to think of any other social events I could maybe pull off wearing it to. Sadly, there are damn few events in this modern world that call for floor length dresses covered in ruffles. Maybe after Saturday, I'll post pictures.

KC is a genius, I swear. It's bits of three different dresses, all layered on top of each other, which should just look bizarre, but somehow, it works. And she did it all in about four hours. I hate to sew. A loose button will probably stay unattached in my world for months on end. But she just sat in my living room and watched me play Suikoden III while assembling pieces of various thrift store finds, and this kick-ass dress was the result.

Gotta find gloves, and possibly shoes, and then I'm good to go.

***

See, this is tricky. Some of my regular readers are Taus, and some are LARP folk. Some of you are wondering why the hell I'm babbling about Victorian style dresses, and I'd really like to explain it all, but I don't want to let slip anything that the other some of you maybe don't need to know quite yet.

Let's just say that the LARP this weekend, instead of the normal Modern Nights game, will be a one-shot, set in Victorian times. And then let's not say the part about how my character is maybe the coolest chica, ever. I got to play her a little at the last session, just to sort of meta-introduce the background (Technically, no one in Victorian times will "remember" they saw this same person 230 years later, and that's even if they're playing the same character they normally play. Does that make sense?), and her stats KICK ASS heeheehee it's all going to be SO COOL bwuahahahaha! OK, I didn't say any of that. Moving onward.

****

I'm awake because D. is playing Suikoden super loud. He's on this strange sleep schedule where he takes a nap at like 8pm, wakes at 1 or so, stays up till 10am, then sleeps all afternoon. Freak.

Shortly after I woke up and was trying to decide if I wanted to get out of bed, he was all "OH MY GOD!" about something in the plot. Apparently, I'll never believe who the masked man turns out to be. The funny part is, he claims this important plot development only happens about 15 minutes beyond the point in the storyline where we both roughly were when I went to bed. He spent the last six hours ignoring the story, and doing other stuff. It's just that sort of game.

I even know it's going to take me at least that long to get my people organized. There are like 50 people living in the castle now, yo. They all need runes, and armor, and sharpened weapons, and there's a pile of stuff in the warehouse I need to deliver, and I'll have to go all the way to Caleria again to finally recruit whatshisname, and now that I've found Billy I think I can get Melville to join the good fight if I swing by Vinay del Xexay, and once I get Melville, I bet I can get Alanis over in Great Hollow, and....

This game is total madness. There are 108 different characters running around who could be recruited. Once recruited, most of them can be put into your main exploring party, and all of them will probably show up at the major battles. That means, they've all got to be prepped.

If you've got like 6 months to kill and a PSII, go get this game. Actually, make that at least a year of play time. You'll have to play Suikoden I and II first, or you'll maybe miss the significance of who the masked man is.

***

Wow. I talked about nothing today but different kinds of gaming. I am such a dork.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey