Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I'm doing OK.
2000-09-27 18:13:05

The other day at work, I was talking with one of the regulars, and it came out that I'm actually a college graduate. He was stunned. "My daughter is in college, and if she was a waitress, I'd...I don't know what I'd do."

I didn't feel up to the whole explanation (Personal Freedom vs. Society's Expectations, maybe throwing in the bit from Atlas Shrugged about not wanting my brain to be used for anyone else's profit, and of course finishing up with a Tom Robbins riff, just for good measure. Yeah, you've heard it all before) so I told him I was taking some time off to get bills paid. Learning that I wasn't actually a complete bum seemed to appease him somewhat, but I was still in kind of a shitty mood.

Then it hit me, again. I'm doing OK. I'm paying all my bills. If I were living in my parent's basement, it would be totally different. But I'm not. I've been on my own for almost five years. I've got a fairly nice car, and excellent credit. I don't need a better job for the money, and status doesn't mean shit to me.

Frankly, I don't want the responsibility or the stress of a "grownup job." I love being able to finish a day's work, and not think about work again until I walk in the door the following day. And let us not overlook the benefits of always having pocket money. I'm not living paycheck to paycheck. I'm happy with my job, except when someone reminds me that I couldn't possibly be.

I just don't understand it. If I had gone the corporate route, no one would think it was odd at all. No one would even consider the fact that maybe I wasn't doing what I wanted.

I'm pretty sure I've said it before, but I'll say it again. I am probably getting more use out of my College Brain(TM) than most people. My degree isn't just a piece of paper to hang in my office. For me, it symbolizes the fact that yes, I went to college. I'm glad I did. I learned a lot of things there, but most importantly, I learned to think for myself. I learned that maybe a good education is a reward in and of itself, and not just the means to a Better Job and a Happy Future.

So screw you, Brian. I'm doing ok. And I'm happy. Tell me in eight years if your daughter still is.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey