Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Gamers and Christians. You tell me who the freaks are...
2000-09-29 18:15:20

Yahn said last night "It's almost the weekend again!" I remember weekends. I had yesterday off, and again, spent the whole day doing stuff. It was all good stuff, of course, but I think I am deliberately not going to make any plans at all for my next day off. I want a day to just chill.

D. and I drove all over the damn place. It was madness. We drove to Springfield (20 miles) to look for costume stores. I'd looked on Yahoo, and found three in Springfield, one in Zenith, and two in Anhk-Morpork The trouble is, I don't know Springfield at all. I can find my Gramma's house, the mall, and the gaming store. We knew one of the listed costume shops was on the same street as the gaming store, so we found that one with no real problems, but it was closed. So, we went to the gaming store instead.

I am not a gamer. I can't play hardcore Magic. I've done a couple RPG one shots, but never a full campaign. But I love the gamer lifestyle. All of my closest friends are gamers. On the whole, they are the most original and intelligent people I know.

Also, gamers have the best stuff.

I found a few Tick comics. Barry vs. Chainsaw Vigilante! The Tick's two most delusional nemeses, head to head! How cool is that? I also found a Brak t-shirt, and a book called The Big Book of Vice. It wasn't all that big, actually, but I loved the title.

D. bought a Sabbat Zippo. He had to explain to me exactly why that was amusing. Apparently, the Sabbat are a vampire clan in White Wolf who believe they can overcome the very real dangers of the vampiric lifestyle.

Fire is bad for vampires. The Sabbat get together and jump through flaming hoops on weekends, just to prove to themselves that fire really isn't as bad as everyone else thinks. These nights always end badly, but the Sabbat keep doing it. A Sabbat would so totally own a Zippo. And now D. has that Zippo.

So, yeah. I did think that was funny, once he explained it. I still prefer the Malkavians, though. Those guys rock.

I was also way too amused by the button display: "I've got 85 hit points and a bad attitude!" "Never trust a Ferengi." "I rule this land with an iron fist, and my mighty D10's" "This semester, I'm majoring in Tapping." Maybe I am a gamer at heart. I just don't game.

After the gaming store, I realized we probably weren't going to find the other costume shop by driving around randomly. So, we drove up to Anhk-Morpork instead (60 miles).

The first costume store was closed. There was a Halloween store, though. D. realized the priest costumes they had weren't really what he was looking for. "I want it to be authentic. Priests must buy their clothes somewhere. Why can't we find a Catholic supply shop?" (Side note: He wants to go as a Toreador Priest. Toreadors are the "artiste" vampire clan. D: "It's perfect! Toreadors were drawn to the church back in the day, because that's where all the best art was! Of course a modern Toreador would be more--" Ana "Goth?" D: No, not quite Goth, but--" Jack: "He wants to be a LARP ( Live Action Role Player )" D: "Yes! That's it exactly!" Hee. Even among gamers, there are hierarchies. As near as I've gathered, LARPs are total total freaks. Sane White Wolf folk and even those loser D&D guys look down on them. They, like, dress up like their characters and stuff. A LARP playing a Sabbat would made sure everyone knew he had a Zippo, and was prepared to use it.)

Anyway, we didn't find Catholicism Unlimited, or whatever it was that D. thought had to exist somewhere. (Abercrombie and Fitchquision? Crucifixes R Us?) We found a Christian bookstore though. D. bought an authentic cross, and I giggled at almost everything else in the store.

They had "BibleMan!" kid's costumes. I shit you not. Apparently, BibleMan is the lost Power Ranger. Purple plastic armor, with a cross on the chest.

Passing lightly over the fact that Halloween is a pagan holiday, just take a moment to imagine the hell of the six-year-old whose parents send out trick or treating dressed up like BibleMan. Go ahead. I'll wait.

They also had a t-shirt that I wish I could remember the exact phrasing. "I'm one of the Christians that Satan warned you about!" seems too funny to be true, but it was something along those lines.

With me giggling, and D. wearing his biker jacket, scary black t-shirt and combat boots, I was almost afraid we'd get kicked out. "They have to be nice to us," said D. "It's the Christian thing to do."

So, that was yesterday. When we got home, D. went off to play in Dante's Champions game. (Someday, I must tell you of the epic battle that is Dante and D. arguing over D's characters in Dante's Champs games) I did laundry, then went over to listen to Jim's Changeling game. (I'm too shy to play RPG's, but I love listening to my friends do it.) All in all, a pretty good day.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey