Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

more than a map
2009-07-16 12:19 p.m.

After this ride, (not to mention this particularly long, frustrating session with mapmyride.com,) I knew I was basically Done for the day. Surviving the six hours until bedtime without falling over or drooling on myself would count as a major accomplishment, so I decided to put off the blog entry until today. Now I can maybe be all kinds of witty about the experience, while still providing the interactive mappy goodness you've come to expect.
***
51.6 miles, yo. I took a slight shortcut to get to Mount Horeb, and then I followed the solar system route all the way to the sun, and then headed home.

Technically, I have not completed Planet Trek. I never found Pluto. I didn't find it within a mile of the trail after the "Welcome to Mt. Horeb" sign, and then I started wondering if maybe the website had said Pluto was "downtown" and what exactly that would mean, so I decided to just head home. It's not like Pluto is even a planet, anyway.

Besides, KC had also expressed interest in Planet Trek, so I'm glad I have the excuse to do it again. When she comes along, I'll be able to say useful things like "Last bathroom for 15 miles!" I know I would have appreciated someone saying those sorts of things yesterday.

At one point, I left the trail and walked my bike across a field to get to the Verona Little League park for an empty water bottle emergency. Then there was much riding around the park perimeter, because I thought I had maybe also passed an actual road leading from the trail to the park. When I got back on the trail, I literally rode less than 100 yards before I saw an official state trail rest stop. Next time, I'll know this.
***
Last summer, I rode 10-12 miles, three or four times a week. I went after work, or before work, or whenever I had an hour or two to spare. So far, this summer is all about adding distance and building endurance.

The trouble is, after completing a 50-mile ride, I know I won't want to ride again for about a week. Maybe now that I've proven to myself that I can ride 50 miles in a day, I can find some sort of middle ground between a 10-mile ride and a 50-mile one.

I really like the sense of accomplishment in a long-ass ride, but it took me six whole hours. I'd like to spend some of my time on a day off pursuing other interests as well.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey