Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Das G�lf
2009-04-09 9:39 a.m.

"Ta-DAAA!"
"...You bought the Golf."
"Yaay!"
"You bought a car called 'Golf'"
"Oh, it's so awesome! It has a sun roof and cruise control and power everything and and reverse! There was some concern about that."
"Wait, what?"
"The gear placement is kinda wacky. That's why I'm a little late. I had to consult the instruction manual to find reverse."
"..."
"Hey, shut up. It was really kind a scary few minutes there. All convinced I was the biggest sucker in the world, buying a car with no reverse gear."
"I don't think they could have legally sold you a car without reverse."
"Anyway. Are you ready to go? You've gotta see this. The dashboard lights are BLUE!"
"I can't believe you bought a car called 'Golf'. What kind of a name is 'Golf'?"
"Tell you what. We'll call it the 'GLF 2000'. Is that better for you?"
"I'm going to call it 'The Golf Cart'."
"Hey, maybe 'Golf' means something different in German."
"..."
"German engineering and all. 'Das Golf' sounds kinda German, right?"
"..."
"I bet there's supposed to be umlauts. 'Das G�lf'."
"..."
"Man, I am totally going to buy some umlauts."
***
So, I've got a car again. It's a 2000 Volkswagon Golf. Rijid describes the color as "Hello, officer" Red and it's basically the most deluxe car I've ever owned. I'm a little worried about the age, but the newer car in my price range, a 2006 Kia, felt like driving a paper car. I've heard nothing but good things about VWs, and maybe the fact that it's lasted this long means it might just go the distance. Besides, I seriously love this car a little more every time I drive it. Side window defrosters! Armrest for the driver! Magic folding key!

I had to return the rental on Tuesday, so I bought the car on Monday. Tuesday, the insurance settlement check came. D'oh! I honestly thought it would take weeks.

Apparently, what I do now is wait for the first car statement, and then make sure to check the little "apply this $5000 payment towards the principal" box. In theory, this will make most of the interest on the loan I had to sign to take the car on Monday go away. If it doesn't, I get about two years of payments, but the payments will be much less than what I was paying for the Saturn.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey