Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Caffeine-fueled babble #50896
2009-02-06 10:22 a.m.

First I had to give the internet some attention. Much like cats, the internet will get cross and start destroying the things you love (bathmats, crossword books, limbs) if you ignore it for too long.

Two hours later, I decided I needed coffee before anything else.

The first cup of coffee went cold on me, so I had to top it off. (Here's me, doing the Angry Stephen Colbert pose, turning to profile and shaking my fist: "Interneeeettt!!") Soon, the pot was almost empty, so of course I had to finish it off.

Eventually, I really will get today started. Or, maybe not. I'm off of work tomorrow too.
**
About two weeks ago, I started keeping track of everything I've read so far this year over on LibraryThing. I was a little shocked to realize that counting the two books I added today, my total so far this year is five. Surely I've read more that that?

Well, I've started a lot of things, but I don't think I can count them till I finish them. There's a Mark Twain anthology that lives in my laundry basket, and only gets dipped into when I happen to misjudge the time left on a dryer and end up in the laundry room 10 minutes too early. Similarly, my current "read till I pass out" book is going to take forever, well, because I keep falling asleep.

It occurs to me that one of them should be replaced with that Bill Hicks transcript collection that's giving me so much grief. I love Bill Hicks, but the main problem with this book is that he repeated a lot of material. The joke that was so hilarious five minutes ago is somewhat less awesome to read again right away. For the true rabid fan, it's maybe very interesting to notice the slight variations in turns of phrase from one show to the next, but I keep finding myself zoning out. If this was a book that I was only reading a few pages a month, I'd probably enjoy it a lot more.
***
I need to step away from the computer for at least a little while. Outside is supposed to be amazing today. I really should look into that.

Oh, and just in case you can't or won't go outside right now, here is your Internet Timewaster of the Moment: OMG it's an adorable little robot with a TARDIS.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey