Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

The first hit's free.
2004-03-25 11:20 a.m.

There's not really a lot new in my life right now, so instead of an entry, I'm going to spend some time today fixing up the links. Some of them need to go, and there's a few new ones that should be added. But fear not, loyal minions! For, lo, I bring to you hours, nay, years weeks many many hours of entertainment!

Ladies and gentlemen, The House of Bugs.

Some would call it a message board. Some would call it an abomination. Some would call it a small off-duty Czechoslovakian traffic warden, but we're just going to ignore them. They're not well.

It is in fact a message board. But a message board the likes of which the world has never seen. Rabid right-wingers frolic with bigots and sexual deviants! Whee!

That's not true. That's mostly not true OK, that is actually true. But if you can get your mind past all that, HoB is quite possibly the funniest damn thing on the internet. Go there. Don't be frightened. I'm reasonably sure that behind all the evilness, they're basically good people. Well, some of them, anyway. Maybe.

Their sheer comedic brilliance and their mind boggling stupidity will confound you. That happens in the same post a lot more often than you might think.

***

So, why am I doing this? Well, sadly, The HoB is in desperate need of new blood. I started thinking the other day.

Hey! I thought. I'd really enjoy a sandwich right now! And speaking of sandwiches, I can singlehandedly reach practically dozens of intelligent, witty people through my diary! Some of them can even write semicoherently! Can sandwiches really be so very far behind?

I'm a little hesitant about doing this. I deliberately chose not to put a link to HoB in here when I first found them. My ego was truly a magnificent thing to behold that day, and I worried that if I gave a link, a thousand or so random dumbasses would invade my favorite site, trashing the furniture and posting in AOLspeak.

I'm feeling much better now. I've come to terms with the fact that I may not actually have six million readers. What I have is roughly 20 people who I know in real life, and a few random Google hits. The benefits of introducing Taus and FVBN to the HoB far outweigh the potential drawbacks.

So, give it a try. As I understand it, you can even edit your settings to make it worksafe, but it's really best in all its twisted deviant glory. Read a few threads. Don't be afraid to post. And just in case you do turn out to suck, don't tell them I sent you.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey