Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

this is my brain on hroo
2002-01-07 10:03 p.m.

Ooooh! You found the Secret Entry! OK, I guess it's not that big of an accomplishment. You hit the "previous" button. Congratulations.

Last night was...."fun." Yeah, you know what I'm talkin' bout. Would it be too horribly pretentious if I paraphrased William Burroughs, and said I took detailed notes of the experience? Yeah, probably. This is most definitely no Naked Lunch. And it's not even that detailed. It's just me babbling, first on one of the HAT computers, and then, another one. But I thought some of you might find it amusing.

I drank some tea. I wandered out into the living room. One of the computers had a Wordpad document open that said "this is a test...." I don't know who wrote that part. But it launched me on an Epic Journey, or something. Enjoy.

***

this is a test it is only a test I believe that this keyboard should perform better the more it gets used.

well, alright, then. I will it here and type for you.

the s could work better. i was having isues with the before. oh, look. I still a.

aw crap. yeah, you know that letter, coe between l and n?? I don't have one. or that other one, between r and t.

fuck.

this is the kind of thing that could severely liit the orts of things I talk about.

at least i soeties get s's. that helps. I could really use that , though.

hee. i feel like a sesae street character. hey, uppet! help e spell!

no uffins, no atchbooks, no argaritas...

I wonder if this would be as ausing to anyone beides e.

***

This i my brain on hroo. yeah. you heard e. hroo.

m

M!

M i say! I say to you M!!! M!!! MMMMMMMMM!

***

you just hae to how them letters who's bos i all. V. S. and again, S. And another one, too.

please insert where eVer you feel they would be MoSt helpful.

***

Me again. (Um...you were expecting maybe the Spanish Inquisition?) This is about where I decided the shitty keyboard was just more than I could deal with. I didn't even leave my chair. I just turned, and found an entirely new world of technology to explore.

I surfed a bit, and landed at Enlightenment With a Vengeance, which is one of my fave sites, even when I'm sober, thankyaverymuch.

(Side Note: READ IT! The author had a fairly prestigious job, but then three years ago, he liquidated all his assets except for his car and bicycle and laptop and took to the road. Due to the nature of what he's doing, his updates can't even be called "sporadic." Hell, he makes the rest of us mere mortals look like overzealous updating machines. It's been seven months since his last entry. But when he does write, it is truly a thing of joy and wonder to behold. GO THERE. GO THERE NOW.)

So I was gettin me some EWAV, and it struck me how desperately I wanted to write a fan letter to this guy. It's probably best that I didn't. You've heard of crazy-talk? Well, kids, this is it. This is maybe the definitive textbook example of crazy-talk. I'm especially amused by the part where I mention "good material." Looking at it now, I can see that I never actually typed out the truly good bits.

See if you can guess where my brain kicked in, and I transferrred the letter in progress over to Wordpad.

***

I probably should start out by telling you I'm not a psycho. I'm psychoACTIVE! which I'm pretty sure is a new word I just made up, so you'll have to bear with me while i finish listening to the accompanying theme music in my brain right now.

OK.

this isn't even my computer. if I don't send this to you, it will be lost forever. This is some good material here. I hope one of us is writing this down.

Oh, wait. I am.

****

I'm sorry. I'm trying to write you a nice normal fan letter, but I'm really really really messed up right now. I hope you can deal with that.

Let's start over

***

Sometimes, you just reach a point where the only thing that makes any sense is to send psychotic e-mail to a complete stranger.

No, wait. that can't possibly ever be a good idea.

***

OK. I've got it now. I need a place to spew my brain. my computer is copying something. the one to left of me, I don't remember its name, has M issues. This one, which is named Solomon, is holding my brain for me right now. I wanted to write a letter to the guy who does EWAV. I'm pretty sure I wanna be sober when I try that.

Or maybe not. But I should look it over sober before I send it. I'm sounding pretty messed up right now. I know I'm fucked up, and that it's ok, and really, it's funny as hell. But he won't know that. This might scare him.

(This might still be a fan letter. I'm really not sure yet.)

There's another computer, see, 45 degrees to the left. It has no M key. And here I am, wanting to throw M's around like, like, something that is full to the brim with M-ieness, and wants to share them with the world. I'm totally failing to come up with an approprite metaphor here. There probably isn't one. Look, I needed an M, ok?

***

I'm feeling much better now. I watched a movie.

So, how are you? I started this whole mess because, um....I was reading your site, and I love you. You quoted Young Frankenstein. And Fawlty Towers. So I was reading merrily along, and admiring the heck out of you, and I came to a bit about "Bursts of truthy freshness in your brain" And it reminded me of The Tick. (If you aren't familiar with The Tick, you most definitely should be. I think it would amuse you. I'm specifically recommending the original 12 comic books, because I always choose the print copy of almost everything. It's total nerd-snobbery on my part. But failing to find comic books, I guess I'll endorse the cartoon and or the live action show). The point is, you reminded me of The Tick, and it was suddenly really important to me to share that with you.

That's about it, really. I was reading, you reminded me of The Tick, and then I got lost in my brain for a bit. These things happen. I like your site a lot. I hope you are still doing well.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey