Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I am rocking the html today.
2008-03-05 11:25 a.m.

(First of all, whoa. For the first time in seven years, D-land is sporting a new design. I realize none of you see the main page from my site, so this is meaningless to you. Even if you look now, you probably won't have ever seen what it looked like before. You'll just have to trust me on this one. It's totally different and really cool.)

(Even though I approve, it was jarring first thing in the morning without any coffee. But where are the pastels? Where are the cartoon bears and kitties? Oh, wait. You mean I don't have to use the site that looks like it was designed by and for a six-year-old girl? This is a good thing.)

(Next week, the site name will change, and I'll be located at ana-ng.angstland.com. Maybe ana-ng.totalfuckingbadass.com. OK, that's a lie. But I can dream.)

(Ooh wait. Coffee is working now. Let's just take a quick trip in the Internet Wayback Machine! Man. For years, I thought my knowledge of the Wayback Machine was just wasted brain space. I'm so glad I finally thought of a valid use for that site.)

What in the world was I going to talk about, before the new design distracted me?
***
Yesterday, we spent my federal tax return on a brand new desk. I don't think you are understanding exactly how awesome this is.

First, it is important that you grasp exactly how much the current desk sucks. It's a particleboard piece of crap. Also, it's a secondhand particleboard piece of crap, and the original owner put it together wrong. Rijid was able to perform enough emergency carpentry on it that we weren't afraid to put several thousand dollars of computer bits on it, but moving it is absolutely not an option. I also should mention that it's an unnecessarily large secondhand particleboard piece of crap, and it blocks our access to the air conditioner.

Now you're confused. Winter in Wisconsin, and she's worried about the air conditioner? See, when we got this desk, it was summer. When it got to the point where we would have liked to put the insulated cover on the AC, we were denied, because of the ULSPPoC. You may remember me bitching about how cold this apartment is. I blame the ULSPPoC. We tried insulating the AC with towels. Although that helped, it didn't really solve the problem.

So. Two months ago, I vowed to buy a smaller, less sucky desk as soon as the tax return came. Yesterday, I waved my magic Tyme card at a saleslady in a real furniture store and she promised to deliver me a grownup desk early next week. That's right. Delivery, bitches. Apparently, when you buy real furniture, instead of particleboard from Target, it gets delivered right to your door. The mind boggles.

(I say "grownup desk" but ironically, it's not. We found the desk that best suited our needs in the children's furniture department. It's the exact same size as a grownup desk, but because it's part of a matched set that includes a kid-sized bed, it's classified as a children's desk. I will avoid the rant about how there are children in the world who own desks worth more than all my living room furniture put together.)

It's kind of a rush, spending two weeks' wages on a single piece of furniture. I totally recommend it.
***
Also yesterday, I got to play bridge. Rijid works with several veteran card players who had expressed interest in learning bridge. Unfortunately, because they are the people he works with, all three of them get a night off together about once in a blue moon. Once you factor in the odds of me getting a night off at the same time, it's really a once in a lifetime event. Lo, and the seas will turn red and the mountains will boil before I get to play bridge again. It was a lot of fun, though. Because they both were familiar with how cards work in a trump setting, they picked up the basics really quickly. My partner led to my void without anyone even explaining why such a thing would be smart.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey