Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I have a lot of books. Who knew?
2008-01-15 12:51 p.m.

Check it,biznitches. I do in fact own more than a few books.

I'm a little sad that I don't quite have 500 titles. 500 books is a fucking library, my friend. 488 is, well, not bad, I suppose...MUST BUY MORE BOOKS MUST BREAK 500 MARK BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS DELICIOUS BOOKS

Ok, I feel better now. Seriously though? I need more books. There are several books that I know I owned at one point, but are now MIA. And don't even get me started on all the browsing of other peoples' libraries that I'm doing. I can think of at least 20 books that I randomly stumbled across that I now need pretty desperately.

Fortunately, I'm practically rich right now. My last Fazuul check included 80 hours of vacation pay. Sweet. If I ever get a day off, I'll go have a bookstore orgy. (I may not get a day off this week. I had today off, but someone called in sick. I was supposed to get Friday off, but someone had last minute family plans, so last night I said I'd work for her. I'm going to ask around, to see if someone else wants the Fri shift, but if no one does, that's really OK. I get paid for OT now, so I'll take as much of it as I can get. Salaries are for suckers. I know this now.)
***
Even if I don't get to buy more books anytime soon, there is still all kinds of fun to be had with LibraryThing. Last night, I played with the classification tags, and I know I missed several books that should be under already existing categories. The "blasphemy" tag particularly amuses me. I'm pretty sure many of my books are blasphemous to someone. Ooh. I could have another tag, "offensive." Or maybe "banned." I was on a real banned book collection spree for a while.

I'm also thinking of actually putting my library in some kind of order now. I was always afraid to even attempt it, but now that I can create an alphabetical list of authors with a mere keystroke, the whole process gets a lot easier. I can say, "Hmm. There is one more Stephen Fry around here somewhere," instead of stumbling across it days later, and having to go back and re-organize entire shelves to make room for it.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey