Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Let it snow.
2007-12-11 10:22 a.m.

It is snowing here. Apparently, in J-ville, it's snow and freezing rain. Fazuul is not open now, and the LRM is making hourly weather update calls to Mr. J to find out if they should even open at all. This is perfectly OK by me. I was scheduled 11:30-8:30. Every hour that passes increases my chances of getting told not to even bother coming in at all.

I'm working one shift a week at the deli. Fazuul's "week" runs Thurs-Weds. The deli runs on a standard American calendar week. This means that Fazuul can give me two days off in a given "week," say Fri and Weds. Fri was last week, so I worked at the deli. Weds is this week, so I'm working at the deli.

My last legitimate Day Off was last week Monday. My next one is next Sunday, but I have to go to Oshkosh and be a crazy vampire. I have off the 23rd-25th for Christmas, but I'll be in Missouri. I don't get a day to stay home and veg out till sometime in January. The point is, I'm loving the snow right now. The snow is my friend. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.
***
I actually really like the deli so far. It's so easy. My first day, it was apparently busy. Six hours flew by before anyone realized "Oh shit, Ana never took a break." Break? I get a break? A chance to sit down, while at work, and not work for a few minutes? I have heard of such things, but I never thought it could happen to me.

Then, when one of my co-workers asked how I liked it so far, I said, "This is awesome! It's so easy!" and she looked at me like I was a crazy person. Again, from their point of view, it had been an exceptionally busy and stressful day. I'm really going to frighten them when I start doing this full time.
***
For years, I have maintained that if it takes you more than 30 seconds to explain your order, you should not be eating in a restaurant. Picky eaters are the bane of every food service worker.

"I'd like the Ham and Swiss sub, but instead of swiss, I want provolone. I need extra tomatoes, no lettuce, and just a little mayo on the side. And cut it into thirds."

NO! The menu is actually pretty diverse. You need to find something you can eat that is actually on the menu, that I can get for you with one button stroke, or you need to take your freaky OCD food issues elsewhere.

At my new job, I'm realizing that maybe a majority of the picky eaters do prepare their own food. They come to the deli counter.

"I'd like 1/3 of a pound of Virginia Ham, cut wafer-thin." I'm glad I resisted my initial impulses to that request. "Here we are sir, eet is wafair-theen. You can see ze light, shining through eet." After about six requests for "wafer-thin," I finally noticed the sign hanging on the front of my counter. "Wafer thin" is actually an industry term. It's the one between "thin" and "shaved." Spontaneous Monty Python references would have just confused a lot of people.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey