Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I don't like my job much.
2007-11-05 8:53 p.m.

It's been too long since I did one of these. There are a lot of things I want to mention, and since they're all sort of related, I'm worried that I might get lost on a tangent and never find my way back to the main thread.

I don't like my job much. We all know this. It's a good starting point. If I start to babble, I can just come back to that key point and try again.

I was talking with the woman who may soon be my GM. She said something about great it would be if new restaurants were built, because I could maybe transfer to somewhere a little closer to my home. I admitted that I didn't plan on being with the company any longer than necessary.

I explained how I do nothing but work and sleep, and how I spend my days off stressing about the next time I'll have to work, and how I'm getting burned out. (There are all things Rijid has been encouraging me to say to her for several weeks. It's really hard for me to admit I can't do something. Of course, not saying them was making me even more stressed.) After getting so much of it out there, I decided to go all the way. I asked her how much advance notice she would like from me before I quit.

She said she understood. Restaurant Manager isn't for everyone. A lot gets put on your plate, and it's very easy to get overwhelmed.

All I have to do is train my replacement. He's been an AM for six years, and apparently now he's ready for the next step. (He's a crazy person. Shine on, you crazy diamond, says I.) All I have to do is teach him schedules and then I won't have to do that, then I just have to teach him budgets and newsletters and catering and interviews and Weds stuff. That sounds like a lot, but just knowing that there is an end in sight makes it all easier. Maybe by January, or February at the absolute latest, it won't suck to be me.

Later, she asked me if I would consider staying on as an AM. I was still all giddy with the cathartic airing of all my woes, so I said yes.

Upon reflection, that was maybe not the correct answer. I'd be taking a pay cut, and still spending the same amount on gas and dry cleaning. I'd have to put "QUITTER" on my r�sum�, and then explain that there was a job I simply could not do to every future employer forever.

On the other hand, I really do prefer J'ville to Madison. I think I might enjoy being a mere AM in a store with no high school drama and a lot less overall stress, but there's all these other factors to consider too.
***
(My, that was long-winded. Time to regroup.)

I don't like my job much. I'm applying at other places. The local hippy grocery is looking for a deli manager. (For a new location opening in February. See how that works?) I understand food safety and how a scale works and how to prepare mass quantities of food at a time. I can read an invoice and make a schedule. I rock at customer service. Being a department manager is probably less stressful than being 2nd in command.

Also, I really liked their website. They host lots of neighborhood events. They sell obscure all-natural snacks that I remember from my childhood. And oh man, the website says they pay starting cashiers a "Madison Living Wage" that's 10 cents more an hour than I was hired for at Fazuul.

They're accepting applications till the 10th, so I may not even get called in for a interview for a few weeks. I really hope they call me.
***
I don't like my job much. I haven't for quite some time. I occasionally throw r�sum�s at places like monster.com, and then forget all about it.

I got a call today from a large statewide grocery store, looking for a deli manager. (I joked to Rijid, maybe all the psychic hire-me vibes I've been sending to the hippies got misdirected.) The interview with them is Thursday. Their website was all corporate double-speak and kind of scary, not like the hippies at all. But, any step away from Fazuul is a step in the right direction.
***
I don't like my job much. I requested off for a specific weekend two months ago. Last week, my soon-to-be boss said she was pulling rank, and she wanted that Saturday off too. Grr. If she had written down two months ago that she had plans, I would have sighed, and told the Cthulu LARP that it was not meant to be. Two weeks ago, she signed off in the request off book that it was OK. Now out of nowhere, she's playing the "a request off is just that, a 'request' and sometimes it just won't happen" card. I say grr. I said a lot worse, last week.

On the other hand, that may be what finally pushed me over the edge, and made me confront her about everything else that stresses me out.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey