Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

This little entry took me almost three hours to complete. Damn you, xkcd!
2007-09-06 5:29 p.m.

I mailed my LAST student loan payment today. The debt I've had hanging over my head every month for my entire adult life so far is GONE. It's a great feeling. I strongly recommend it.
***
Rijid has a new job, at a video store. It's a little uncanny. He wasn't happy with the direction Jimmy John's was going, so he submitted an application at Four Star Video basically on a whim. Two days later, he called to check on it. The manager said his application was one she was planning on calling, could he come in for an interview at 2pm? At 4:30 that same day, she called to offer him a position. We are talking a span of less than 48 hours between him expressing a desire for a specific job, and getting it.

(WHY can't I have that kind of luck? Well, OK, I know why. I could probably have any restaurant job in town in a heartbeat. I keep foolishly insisting I want something (anything) else, so my job hunt is going to take a little longer.)

He brings home 4-6 new DVDs every night. The other night, I had to tell him I'd done nothing but watch movies for two days, and I needed to do something else for a few hours. He admitted that not a lot of people have the kind of movie-watching stamina that he does. He watched two more movies, while I did a few crosswords. I give him six months, tops, before he has watched every single title Four Star carries.
***
I'm on vacation this week, sort of. I went in today, for a manager meeting. Since I'm Schedulinator again, I also have to go in Monday to do that.

Jville schedules are a much simpler process than the Madtown ones were. There are fewer associates, so there are hours aplenty for everyone. Also, in Madison, I was trained that labor each day had to match the forecasted sales by +/- one. In J-ville, I get a total of +/- ten hours for the entire week. That makes it all SO much easier.

Even better, the extent of my schedulination is assigning the shift times. Someone else deals with making the shift planners and assigning positions. I actually can create an entire week's schedule in just a few hours, instead of the more or less constant hassle it was in Madison.
***
I thought I was going to write more tonight, but then I found a comic. I will freely admit that I don't get all the math/physics jokes, but if you're into that sort of thing, they're probably pretty sweet.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey