Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Mostly another Fazuul entry
2007-08-17 1:22 p.m.

I haven't written in a while. There's probably all sorts of stuff in my head.

Obligatory "I Hate My Job" paragraph: I work closing shifts the next 10 days straight. That's gonna suck so hard.

I realized the other day that I never actually put in for any vacation time this year. My "year" runs from Oct-Sept, I think, because I transferrred to J-ville in Oct. It is of course 1/2 way through August right now. It's possible that Mr. J already made the Sept. schedule, and I didn't request off in time.

There's all sorts of days I want to request off for in the Oct-Dec. period, but the current request off book only runs through Sept. This is also frustrating.

(Remember when I started out this entry with an "obligatory 'I Hate My Job' paragraph"? That was supposed to discourage me from doing yet another entire entry of Fazuul whining. Dammit. There's just a few more points I'd like to touch upon, and then I swear I will talk about something else.)

In Sept, the LRM has to sit down before the Fazuulian High Council for a three-hour oral exam. If she passes, she could become a General Manager. In October, Mr. J will sit down with the FHC overlords, and try to become an Area Supervisor. If both of these things come to pass, I probably end up as the new Lead Restaurant Manager. I really don't want this. I've done a lot of soul searching, and I have absolutely no interest in a constant 60+ hour week. I've seen what the LRM does, and I admire her dedication, but I simply don't care about the company that much. Is that so wrong? (No, seriously. I'm really curious. Is there still such a thing as a 40-hour work week that you can leave at the door on weekends? Does it make me look bad, that I want such a thing?)
***
To make a long story short (too late) I'm job-hunting again. My r�sum� is now sleeker and easier to modify on a job-by-job basis. I mentioned the temp agency calling me, and last night an Applebee's headhunter called. Ideally, I'll start getting some lovin from the people I specifically contact any day now.
***
LARP was last weekend. Twas fun. As usual, the central plot left me behind, but since I now have a character who makes her own fun, it didn't really matter. Val spent most of the night playing chess. She started out by diagramming the layout of the room with different pieces assigned to each person in the room, and then she decided that was how the world really worked. Val was arbitrarily a white knight, so she really believed she was a white knight, and moved around the room accordingly. Then she had to carry the (inconveniently large) chessboard around the city with her, because how else was she going to keep track of it all? I had to try not to giggle when Val explained herself to the Harpy. ("Do you have any new information?" "Well, I'm....*ahem* exploring a few patterns." "Patterns?" "Yes, sir. I'm a *heehee* White Knight, see, and...")

Good times, and Best. Derangement. Ever. Let other people make the combat twink characters. For Val, I barely need a character sheet.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey