Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Bike and Simpsons
2007-07-26 7:07 p.m.

Today, I went for my first bike ride in about ten years. My mom had heard somewhere that I was thinking about getting a bicycle again, so she very decently gave me one that's been sitting in her basement for forever.

I rode down the closest start of a bike trail from my apartment, and kept going till I realized the ride home was getting longer and longer.

When I got home, I tried figuring out how far I had gone using Google Maps. Unfortunately, Google doesn't seem to acknowledge the bike-only trail I started on, but I think I went about seven miles.

While pedaling around in the arboretum, I saw a woman driving her car and talking on a cell phone. I thought of the quote from Arrested Development: "You don't really get nature, do you?"
***
Tonight, Rijid and I will be at the midnight premiere of THE dork event of the season, The Simpsons Movie. Oh yes. I understand there's recently been some sort of Harry Potter book or something, and I've heard mention of a few comic book movies also currently in theaters, but this, THIS is in fact the defining event of my generation. It's only a slight exaggeration to say I have been waiting for this movie for most of my life. Definitely more than half of my life, anyway.

I'm a little afraid that it's going to suck. The series has gotten kind of stale the past few years. I think it was Acheron who once theorized that it all started to go downhill when celebrites started appearing as themselves.

Remember when the celebrities all did cameos? Remember Danny DeVito as Homer's long-lost brother? How about Patrick Stewart as the Head Stonecutter? Or Michael Jackson as the crazy man who thought he was Michael Jackson?

Lately, too many episodes have revolved around Homer has a wacky idea, Famous Person wanders through to say, "Hi there, I'm Famous Person," Homer says "D'oh," roll credits. It makes me sad, to watch recent Simpsons. It's hard to look at something you've been claiming to love for nigh onto 20 years and realize that it sucks.

Rijid suggested that the reason the series has lost some of its edge is because they've been saving all their big guns for the movie. I hope he's right. I really don't want to have to be all "Rest assured I was on the internet within minutes registering my disgust throughout the world" on this one.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey