Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

A lot can happen in a month.
2007-05-18 9:51 a.m.

I can't believe it's been a month since my last entry. I worked excessively, and then I was without a computer for a while.

Fazuul recently updated their menu in all kinds of crazy ways, and I got to be the schedule's bitch during the pre-rollout phase. There were two open-close days, there was many training, there was the actual changing of the menuboards. It sucked. I'm very glad it's over.

Then, Rijid decided it was finally time to get the epileptic computer treated. I may have mentioned that what we did for this computer was buy a bunch of pieces online, and hand them over to a friend to assemble. It's a lovely computer, with a shiny black case, but it had issues.

It didn't download. It shut itself off seemingly at random. Sometimes, you could get it to turn right back on, and sometimes you just had to accept that you were basically done with computing for the rest of the day. I told people the computer had epilepsy, but I suspected that really wasn't the technical reason.

It turns out, Rijid's friend was an idiot. Apparently, there are supposed to be numerous little pinlike things along the inside wall of the computer case. You set your various internal computer organs on the little pinlike things, then screw them in. Little pinlike things help maintain proper spacing between all the different bits. Rijid's friend saw no little pinlike things, so he decided he maybe didn't need them.

The guy at the computer store opened up the case and said, "OMG! You have no little pinlike things!" He said that the first step would have to be completely taking the computer apart, adding a few LPTs, and then putting at all back together. He said it's a fairly simple procedure, but very time-consuming, and he'd have to charge us for at least an extra hour of labor before he even started running the usual diagnostics. He offered to give us a handful of LPTs instead.

I thought that since the computer store guy seemed to feel this was a procedure any schmuck off the street (with the possible exception of Rijid's friend) could handle, we should just go ahead and do it. Rijid said he would feel better taking it to a different friend. It really is ridiculous that the two of us have so little practical computer hardware experience in this day and age.

So, the computer went to Ripon for a week, and now it's back. I haven't tried to download anything yet, but at least basic Internet isn't a problem. So far, anyway.
***
The reason we could suddenly afford to consider computer repair is that Rijid got promoted. Instead of a mere shift leader (They call the position "PIC." Person In Charge. Isn't that great?) he is now an actual salaried manager. At some point over the summer he has to go to the official management training program, but his boss waved the magical salary wand at him a month ago.

It's a little frustrating. I had to go through so much stress and uncertainty and bullshit to get the salary. There was almost a full year of Head Boss Lady waving the RM slot just out of my reach. Rijid just sort of walked into it.

I know that's not fair. He worked hard, and he deserves it. It's just that he had basically a week between "Um, we're going to need another manager around here." and "Abracadabra! It's YOU!" He pointed out that we work for very different companies. Indeed. I work for a company that kind of sucks.
***
That may change soon. Before the computer went away, I happened to randomly stumble across a job that I really want. I was bored, and decided to check the local job sites basically on a passing whim. Madison's Tech College is looking for a bookstore cashier.

I know I'm way overqualified. I can run a cash register in my sleep. I can do inventory like nobody's business. But it's a state school, so it pays a state wage. Oh. My. God. Sixteen bucks an hour for an 8-5 cashier slot. 8 to fucking 5! A customer service position that won't celebrate The Day After Thanksgiving! OK, yeah, there will be equivalently insane days at the start/end of every semester, but they won't necessarily fall on every single damn holiday.

I have an interview today. I'm trying to not get my heart set on this, but man, it would be sweet.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey