Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Snow Day
2006-12-01 9:31 a.m.

J-ville just called. Apparently, they got like six inches of snow down there, all the schools are closed, and Area Supervisor Man called and told them that if business doesn't pick up by say 1pm, don't even bother. (This is kind of surprising. He normally doesn't say things like this at all, or at least he didn't when he was the Madison AS. J-ville is a smaller town, so maybe he follows slightly different corporate dogma with them. Or maybe he's a pod person now.)

The point is, I was scheduled 11-8. Mr. J was worried about me driving all the way down in the scary snow, just to turn around and go home. So I get the day off.

I'm pretty ridiculously happy about it. I haven't had a Snow Day since high school. I want to run outside and make snow angels.

OK, no. I want to spend the whole day curled up in my comfy chair by the window, with a mug of coffee and a cat helping me with the crossword. ("Do you know a four-letter word for 'annoying?' 'Meow?' Dude, that's what you said six-across was...")
***
I have so many good books right now. For about two months, I had a boxful of books that I had decided no longer amused me living in my car trunk. Every damn time I wanted to use my trunk for something useful, I couldn't, because I hadn't gotten around to getting rid of these crappy books yet. They were ostensibly waiting for the day when I had both the time and money to try and sell them.

Yes. Selling books requires money. Half Price Books is such an evil place. While they're evaluating my sucky books, I've got nothing to do but wander around and drool over a few thousand books that I really do want. I have never managed to leave that store with a net gain in cash. I simply don't have that kind of willpower.

My vist last week was no different. I traded approximately three feet of suck for an $11.50 store credit, but I had already found $30 worth of stuff I couldn't possibly live another day without.

I never even made it past the "Memoirs" section. David Sedaris! Laurie Notaro! Sarah Vowell! Augusten Burroughs! I've been pretty into funny, essay-length style memoirs ever since I realized that it's basically what I'm trying to do here. I know I'm no David Sedaris or anything. But I like to think it's the same genre. It makes me happy, to pretend I have a genre.

So I was thinking about that, and looking at the memoirs, and I saw that Poundy had written a book. Dude. I'm just going to come out and say it, but please don't think it's because I think you're fat. You seriously need to read this book.

It's about Being a Fat Girl, yes. It's also about dating entirely the wrong people, and having a blog that becomes popular. It's hilarious on all of these topics, and more. It also made me want to revisit here. I don't remember if I gave a link to that when I first became aware of it. If I didn't (or, even if I did), go there to see her sense of humor in action.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey