Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

In which I (finally) become salaried.
2006-10-03 11:58 a.m.

I found out last night that I actually have been salaried since Thursday. There was some confusion about that.

Apparently, according to the Big Book of Fazuulian Knowledge, a store needs to make $24,000 weekly to justify three salaried staff. J-ville's average for the last six months was $23,960. Mr. J knew that at this point, not giving him a 3rd manager was crazy-talk, and it took very little work for him to convince his superior of the same thing. However, his superior, M, ran into the wall of red tape head on, and had to spend several weeks hacking through it. As of last week Weds, things were still up in the air.

I had been told I'd start making the moneys, effective Thurs the 28th. Weds I called Mr. J and asked him what was up. He said he still didn't have an answer for me, reiterated all the stuff about wheels set in motion, and forms filled out in triplicate, etc. However, since I was scheduled for 45 hours, I should just plan on working those hours, and he'd accept the fact that he might have to pay me overtime, if things weren't fixed within a week.

Thurs. night, I worked 9.5 hours out of nine. It was really busy, and my brain shut off early and I forgot how to count, and all the closing stuff took way longer than it should have.

Friday, Riker scheduled me for 9.5 hours. She was apparently a little unclear on my status. HBL told me I could plan on leaving at 8, instead of 8:30, but then it was Homecoming weekend or something, and there was absolutely no way I could leave till 9:15.

(For the record, what the hell? Every year, all the highschoolers get dressed up, and come to Fazuul for dinner before the dance. They come in groups of 6-8, run into all their friends in the dining room, and basically it sucks to be us for like an hour. There are numerous high schools in the Madison area, so we go through this routine every Fri and every Sat night for like a month. Also, the same thing happens in the spring, because of proms.)

(I just don't get it. I never went to my homecoming or prom when I was in high school, but I always understood it to be a semi-formal occasion. Taking your date to a place where you have to stand in line to order is not the stuff of which memories are made. "Hey sweetie, let's make this night magical. Let's go to a place with a drive-thru.")

Saturday was my first ever night in J-ville. Apparently, their high schoolers do the Homecoming at Fazuul thing too. I worked 10 hours out of nine.

Sunday, I actually left at 8:01. However, I was in such a hurry to escape that I completely spaced that Madison had asked me to bring them some pizza sauce till I was literally five minutes from my home. I spent an extra hour in my car, but decided I couldn't really get pissy about it because it was my own fault.

When I told Rijid all of this, he got mad. "You do know that's illegal, right? You're technically still an hourly employee, and they should pay you for ALL the hours you work." Yeah, but I might become salaried at any minute, and then it won't matter.

Yesterday, Head Boss Lady called me. M had finally successfully cast his Summon Salary spell, and it was a go, retroactive to the 28th. So, hooray.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey