Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Another title-defying general update, spanning several completely unrelated topics
2006-09-12 10:49 a.m.

I swear, this desk used to be HUGE. It's amazing, how much space a few dozen computer cases can take up.

OK, there's only three of them. But that still three times as many as a normal person would keep on a single desk. I feel claustrophobic. I think I need to move some of them out of the way so I can get some elbow room.

We have the new computer, but for some reason it doesn't do much. It's kind of embarrassing, how little practical computer troubleshooting experience Rijid and I have. So, the new case and the old case are right next to each other on the desk, while we wait for a more competent friend to have pity on us and make it better. Also, under the desk is what I was told would be a fully functioning, circa five years ago, machine. It actually isn't anything of the sort. It makes me sad.

All I want to do is play some Sims, dammit. Shennanegoat's PlayStation plays The Sims with her, and so every time I go over there, I want to play too. But NOOOO. Three computers (four, counting the laptop) and none of them want to play with me. Stupid technology. I tried putting the Sims on the laptop, but it wasn't quite studly enough to figure it out. Sigh.

I suppose I could put the game on this one functioning computer, but I'm afraid that it might slow down all of Rijid's games. Er, that's a reasonable assumption, right? That kind of thing happens sometimes? Maybe?
***
Head Boss Lady called me yesterday. Apparently, the wheels have been set in motion for me to start earning a salary in October. She desperately needs me for the first two weeks, then not so much. At that point, Mr. Janesville will get me part-time, and Madison will get me part time. However, it saves everyone involved miles of red tape if they just push the magic Salary Enhancement Button at the start of the month, instead of halfway through. So, hooray.

I really should try to call Mr. J today, to see if my actual salary has been determined yet. That might be nice to know.
***
I bought the Best Converses Ever the other day. They're sort of khaki-colored, and corduroy, with a plaid lining. Apparently, what The Kids do these days is fold down the sides for a European look. I had no idea Converse Technology had advanced so far.

They will look so lovely with my bridesmaid dress. The sucky thing is, apparently, the Bride and most of the bridesmaids have only recently been told that no, they can't actually wear anything but heels with their respective dresses. Dammit.

(Shenn told me she went through something similar with her dress. She said she had to insist several times that no, she really did want to wear flats with her dress, and she was in fact the one who gets to make this decision, before they believed her. She had this argument fairly early in the process, though. I'm guessing that if Sarah tried to play the "It's MY dress, dammit" card now, she'd have to pay for another alteration.)

So, sigh. At least my dad will still be wearing the Chucks. Also, I guess one of the bridesmaids was able to find Converse high heels, which will be fun.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey