Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit amphetamines...
2006-09-01 10:44 a.m.

I seriously considered just cut-n-pasting last week's entry. I have nothing new to report on any front. Quitting smoking still sucks, I still don't know anything about the bookstore, and I still have no concrete details about J-ville. If you keep reading, you'll see me re-hashing all these topics with far more depth than they probably merit. You have been warned.
***
I get to have four cigarettes today. Not gonna write about that at all, because I have determined that this means I don't get to have one at all till 1pm. It's 10:47am right now.
***
Yesterday, I finally called Mr. J-ville. I put it off as long as I could, because I really wanted Barnes and Noble to call me first. (Finally, I called them. I got a snippy "Don't call us, we'll call you" for my troubles. I thought about pointing out to the cashiering wench that I had applied to be her boss, and although I know bookstores on average receive about a zillion applications a day, maybe I get to follow slightly different rules. I let it go, though.)

So, I called Mr. J-ville. I liked talking with him. The very first thing he said was an apology. His PDA had broken, and he'd lost my phone number. As far as I know, Head Boss Lady might not even suffer Acts of God-type technological difficulties, but if she did, she never would have admitted it right away like that.

So, we talked, and I said I knew Sunday truck orders, and Wednesday inventories, and scheduling, and interviews, and the more I talked, the more I realized how studly I am. I'm SO ready for this. It was a good feeling.

There are only two minor drawbacks. THe first is obviously, the commute. When Mr. J asked about it, I said I had just signed a one-year lease, which is true. I really don't want to move, though, even in a year. If given a choice, I'd rather have my job 40 minutes away, and people I can get messed up with within walking or bussing distance. Maybe in a year, I'll feel differently. (Or maybe in a year, I'll be working somewhere else.)

The second drawback is that M will again be my Area Supervisor Man. See, there was this major overhaul of the entire state in February or so. Basically, the lines were redrawn east-west instead of north-south, and suddenly J-ville and Madtown, even though they were so physically close, were under two different AS. Instead of Southern WI, M's new area was Eastern WI.

I'm thinking I never mentioned it in here, because I thought it would have basically not much impact on my life. I'm pretty sure I decided it would amuse me, to be the only one who knew that the pseudonym "Area Supervisor Man" now referred to someone entirely different. Trust me, it was hilarious.
Maybe you had to be there.

So, we had a new AS, and life was good. Madison was no longer routinely at the bottom of the restaurant evaluation scores for the area. We were getting 95s and shit, without even trying.

Now, I'll be back under M again. M, who nothing was ever good enough for. (OHGOD THERE'S 10 POINTS OFF FOR THE CEILINGS AGAIN I SPENT AN HOUR LAST NIGHT CLEANING THEM WHY WILL YOU NEVER LOVE ME I TRY SO HARD) I'm kind of thinking that might have been an issue M had with Head Boss Lady. When he sent out his monthly summaries of all his visits, we could see other people were getting good scores from him, just not us. So, maybe if I'm not in HBL's restaurant, he's not such a bad evil overlord after all.
***
OK, I don't think I can ignore that cigarette any longer. I held out against it for TWO HOURS.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey