Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I never could get the hang of Thursdays, either.
2006-05-11 1:08 p.m.

I just found out that I'm closing tonight, instead of working 12-8. It could be somewhat grim. On the schedule, it was Riker closing cash, and a larval associate manager closing manager stuff. Riker is starting her hell week (Finals and prepping herself for GM certification) and begged the night off. So, now it's me closing cash and advising the larval manager every step of the way. Riker can do this, no problem. I'm not totally sure if I can.

It sometimes gets a little hardcore running a dinner rush with another AM, and no Riker or Head Boss Lady anywhere in sight. Running a dinner rush with just M. as my backup could get really out of control really fast.

It all comes down to the kitchen, really. If the kitchen is solid, I already know I can do more or less everything up front simultaneously, if I have to. If the kitchen falls apart, I'm supposed to be able to leap in there and help them. My usual tactic is to get the other AM in the kitchen, stat, because I know they're both stronger there than I am. However, M. is even worse in the kitchen than I am. If the kichen starts to get behind tonight, they're screwed.

Thursdays are kind of unpredictable. Sometimes, they're really slow, and sometimes, they're ridiculously busy. Also, it's raining right now. Rain has much the same effect on a restaurant as Thursdasity. I don't know why.

(I am pleased with the word "Thursdasity." It probably means "the general fucked-up-edness of everything that for some reason usually happens on Thursdays. See also the works of D. Adams." I hope to find ways to use it again and often.)

In just a few short months, this running a shift solo routine will be my life all the time, so I really do have to get used to it. I hope it doesn't go too badly. I haven't actually worked with M. in a week or so. Maybe she's better than I'm thinking she is.

My general impression is that she's awesome up front, but cleverly manuevers herself out of the kitchen whenever she's scheduled there. I did that once. And look at me now.
***
(Hey, wait a minute. Isn't that another new entry over there? Basically, I had another one of those days where I finished my thoughts on one topic and still felt like writing, and so I picked a new topic and kept going. Usually, I finish these, try and think of a title that somehow emcompasses two or more wildly disparate themes, fail, and throw the whole thing up with a generic title. Today, this displeased me, so I made two mini-entries instead.)

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey